Fps drops in Overwatch with lower speeds (in GHz)Please help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

10110001

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
17
I have had this issue for a while now and have searched online for many fixes ( high priority, deleting certain files, using a high performance power plan and even turning all game settings to the very minimum) but I still cannot get a stable frame rate. One second it will be 70 fps, the next it will be 40 and it is starting to affect my gameplay a lot more nowadays.
I used a 64 bit windows 10 laptop with 8GB of RAM and the specs are: Intel Core i5 - 52000 CPU @ 2.20 GHz. I understand this is not a gaming computer or anything like that but seeing as I won't be able to get a new one any time soon it would be really helpful if anybody could come up with a solution for me

Last Note: Just in case it matters, the place where I viewed the speed of it is task manager performance tab
 

10110001

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
17
This is kinda what my fps looks like in a game of overwatch (incase it might help)
 

Attachments

HyperHenry

Henry
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
774
Merry Christmas! What are you using for a GPU and power supply unit. Please give brand name, model and wattage. Thanks.
 

10110001

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
17
Sorry to bother you, but how do I find these? o_O I'm not amazing with finding out things like this.
 

HyperHenry

Henry
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
774
Telling me the make and model or your laptop will help find what your GPU is. I didn't notice it was a laptop so PSU isn't important yet.
 

10110001

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
17
Which drivers do you recommend that I download from that page, because I don't want to accidentally download something that might mess up or slow down my computer. :)
 

HyperHenry

Henry
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
774
This is a simple trick that often cures a lot of different problems. Turn off the computer/Unplug/remove the battery/hold the power button for 30 seconds/reinstall battery/plug in (if wanted) and try. This clears the capacitors and can solve a lot of issues.
 

HyperHenry

Henry
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
774
There should be a latch door underneath with the battery. This is a laptop isn't it? if not there is no battery so skip that step.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top