1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Frame drops while playing games

Discussion in 'Games' started by DuckerDuck, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DuckerDuck

    DuckerDuck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I've recently build a new computer but while playing games like battlefield 3 and tf2 I can get random framedrops.

    For example, the first time I start battlefield 3 up after launching my pc I get nice a framerate of about 50-60, than after about 20 minutes I start to get framedrops to about 1-5 fps which are gone after 10 seconds. This happens about every 2 minutes and cause me to die, and lag behind. It doesn't matter if I have my setting on high or low, I get the very same result.

    I've tried installing diffrent drivers for my graphics card (both normal and Beta drivers) and installing the latest drivers for all the other components.

    I'm running a 1-month old windows 8 pro x64 installation.

    Here are my specs:

    AMD FX-8150 Black Edition
    MSI R7850 Twin Frozr 2GD5/OC
    Asrock 970 Extreme4
    Corsair Vengeance 2x4Gb DDR3
    Cooler Master GX 750W
    Windows 8 Pro (build 9200)

    Bios temps:

    CPU: 50.00 °C
    M/B: 38.00 °C

    Vcore: +1.320
    12.00V +12.196
    5.00v +5.112
    3.30v +3.232


    Any help would be amazing,
    thanks
     
  2. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    What type of video card do you have? Is it built-in to the motherboard? That may be the problem.

    I'd get a better video card if you are using the built-in one.
     
  3. DuckerDuck

    DuckerDuck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Uhm, the videocard is not in-built, the whole thing is a custom build.
    I have a MSI R7850 Twin Frozr 2GD5/OC (=Radeon HD 7850)
     
  4. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    What are you temps and voltages when in Windows?

    Download and install HWMonitor, run the program and screenshot the full screen with you system sat idle at the desktop, then leaving HWMonitor running start up a game and run it for 5 minutes or so. Then exit the game and screenshot HWMonitor again.

    Post the two screenshots in a reply here.
     
  5. DuckerDuck

    DuckerDuck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
  6. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    Your temps all look ok. There is limited voltage information with nothing about the +12v rails etc.

    The only possible concern may the the AVCC / 3VCC which should be 3.3v as far as I know. They are both showing a fairly high amount of fluctuations and only just stay within limits which isn't a good sign in my opinion.
     
  7. DuckerDuck

    DuckerDuck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Any idea what I can do to fix this?
     
  8. DuckerDuck

    DuckerDuck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083288

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice