1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Free Virtual Windows?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Pyrophorus, Jan 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pyrophorus

    Pyrophorus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    I have heard that virtual machines are available for free, but I was just wondering if anyone knew of any resources links for them
     
  2. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    Microsoft
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Microsoft's Virtual PC is free, the operating systems you can install into it are not free.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Vmware server and player are free as well. Vmware also started a Vmware Appliance website. Has lots of neat stuff.

    You should also take a look at this site as well.
    http://petruska.stardock.net/Software/VMware.html

    Take a look at VMXbuilder on that website.
     
  5. Soxaholic

    Soxaholic Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    How much ram and HD space do you need to run virtuals?
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    When I was out at MS last year for some meetings on Vista, we ran Vista inside Virtual PC. The machines we ran it on had 2gb's of ram and it really lagged alot. But most of the Betas lagged even on a Normal Machine. Things really sped up once they released RC1. I would dedicate at least 1gb for Vista if you plan on running it inside a VM. So you would have to have more than 1gb of ram on your PC.

    It is really dependent on what OS you are running inside the VM and what apps are running inside of it.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I run virtual machines with anything from 32kb (MS-DOS) to 512mb for Windows XP, the VM will consume that amount and some additional overhead.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540003

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice