1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Freeserve Anytime. Opinions?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by stevedann, Jan 11, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stevedann

stevedann Thread Starter

What is everyone's experience of Freeserve Anytime (in the UK). I've been using it for a few months but recently its become more and more difficult to get a connection, it might take 20 - 40 minutes at times. Once connected the speed is very low. If I dial the Freeserve pay by the minute connection however, everything is fine, which makes me think that all the bandwidth is being given to the pay per minute user. Freeserve blame the problem on the bandwidth on the BT phone line but that doesn't explain why one connection is bad and the other good ... does it? Freeserve gave me another number to dial in to. To start with it was as bad as the first one but for the last couple of evenings its been very good. I'm just concerned that the service on the new number may deteriorate as well. If anyone has any idea of what's going on I'd be grateful to hear about it.

Thanks.

2. CHUNKYLAD

CHUNKYLAD

hi
    i was on freeserve anytime i found it very poor
    i phoned up my telephone comp see what they offer i live in the midlands i was on cable anytime £10.00 per month extra line £10.00 per month(for a extra £5 you can get broadband i go on wednesday)i know bt offer same deal
    my advice PAY THE EXTRA GET BROADBAND
    hope this helps?

3. PeteBaines

PeteBaines Guest

Could you please tell me the number you dial?

I dial 08089916001

I find this fast during the day when it is a peak rate but at around 6:00pm (offPeak), it detorates rapidly and because it has call waiting if i get kicked off it takes a while to get back on.

What number did you ring?