Freeze durring win xp installation reboot.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stuart.l

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
5
Hi all.
I recently bought a new hdd: a 160 gb Western Digital "scorpio" because my current hard drive: a 60 gb toshiba is just too small for all the programs, media etc. i have
I installed the new WD hard drive and attempted to install windows xp home (2002) distributed with my MDG desktop
All goes fine with the installation, partitioning, formatting etc. until after files for the setup are copied to the hard drive and installation requires a reboot. In the gray stripe at the bottom it says "Windows Rebooting" except seems to freeze there. I have tried leaving it for over an hour and it will not reboot or proceed past that stage.
Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
236
the MDG cd is it full winxp version or is it a MDG restore disk ,was there a partition on the old drive that maybe the MDG disk is looking for for help in intalling windows
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
513
More questions:
Have you ever used that disc to re-install on the 60gb drive in the past, and if so was it successful?
Have you done a quick format on all of your attempts thus far?
 

stuart.l

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
5
1) i havent tried to re-install on my 60 gb and i especially dont now cuz im using that atm to access internet for answers and dont want to loose that ability
2) i hav done 2 quicks and 2 normal
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
513
I asked because the disc might have problems. I wanted to know if you've ever used it successfully in the past.
 

stuart.l

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
5
oh i see
i am thinking of trying to get another xp disc from a friend and see if that works but upon further thought i had used it on another computer (desktop) to do a re-install and it worked perfectly fine but never for a fresh installation of a brand new hard drive
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
513
Well, using another disc and installing would narrow things down a bit. If it works, then the OEM disc is suspect. If it doesn't work then I might be stumped. So, I assume you have both the 60GB and 160GB installed in same computer? If so that would rule out a hardware issue, other than the drive itself and as it's new, that would be quite odd.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top