1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Freeze Panes in Acrobat

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Pharmmann, May 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pharmmann

    Pharmmann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I created a document in EXCEL and have frozen the top 5 lines using the freeze pane feature in EXCEL. This locks the first 5 lines and lets the other 100 lines of information below scroll so I can always see the first 5 lines of header information. When I convert this document to an Acrobat PDF file the top 5 lines do not remain frozen. I have seen other spreadsheets in PDF files where this freezing of the top portion of the document works. How do I do it? I have tried converting the EXCEL file to a PDF file by by saving as a PDF file and by printing as a PDF file and neither way works.
     
  2. WendyM

    WendyM Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,032
    Hi Pharmmann, welcome to TSG.

    There's no ability for Acrobat to capture the frozen panes, but you can do something similar in Excel that Acrobat will capture. In Excel, go into the Page Setup and select the Sheet tab. Under print titles, select the dropdown for "Rows to repeat at top" and highlight your first five rows. Click OK and then save it and convert to PDF. Each page of the PDF should now show those rows at the top. Hope that helps.
     
  3. Pharmmann

    Pharmmann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the suggestion but there is a way to do it. I have a document that someone else created and they did something to the EXCEL file that allows the freeze pane to transfer to the PDF file.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    A PDF is a static file. I don't get how you could "free panes" in a PDF.
     
  5. workdummy

    workdummy

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Do you think he would be asking if there wasnt a way? HE is absolutely right there is a way...and I have been trying to duplicate it for the last hour to no avail!! Ive tried everything!!! grrrrr....Initial poster if you figured it out please share with me...I will be searching till then.


    -may the force be with you
     
  6. WendyM

    WendyM Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,032
    There is no option to freeze the panes the way there is in Excel.

    However, you can split the view so that you can look at different parts of the document at the same time, which may be what you're referring to. If you go to Window/Spreadsheet Split, it will give you vertical and horizontal bars you can drag. You can drag the vertical bar offscreen and position the horizontal bar where you need it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1051595