1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Freeze!

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by matteopagni, Sep 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matteopagni

    matteopagni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Well, my laptop freezes every once in a while....I cannot really say how or why....
    The only thing I know is that if I keep on working on it I have no problem, but if I leave it turned on without working for an undetermined period of time it just freezes.
    The only thing I'm able to run at that moment is the Task Manager, from which I can turn off all the applications. They are not shown as "freezed" but as "currently running", except that when I shut them down they appear to be "not answering".
    When I shut them all, I can experience two different situations:
    the PC is still freezed and the only thing I can do is just reboot it, or it starts working again in an aparently normal way.
    I've already checked the settings for the system rundown but everything seem correct, so I ran HijackThis and the startup list is the following, anyone has an idea of what is going on?

    StartupList report, 22/09/2003, 11.30.46
    StartupList version: 1.52
    Started from : C:\DOCUME~1\CATTAI~1.ARP\IMPOST~1\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
    Detected: Windows 2000 SP4 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    c:\winnt\tsi32\tsircusr.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\tp4serv.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\WINNT\LTSMMSG.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\ThinkPad\PkgMgr\HOTKEY\TPHKMGR.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\PRPCUI.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\RunDll32.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\internat.exe
    C:\Programmi\ThinkPad\PkgMgr\HOTKEY\TPONSCR.exe
    C:\Programmi\ThinkPad\PkgMgr\HOTKEY_1\TpScrex.exe
    C:\WINNT\explorer.exe
    C:\Programmi\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\ULTIMA~1.7BE\uzip.exe
    C:\DOCUME~1\CATTAI~1.ARP\IMPOST~1\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Menu Avvio\Programmi\Esecuzione automatica]
    EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINNT\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\E_SRCV03.EXE
    Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Programmi\Microsoft Office 2k\Office\OSA9.EXE
    Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Programmi\File comuni\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINNT\system32\userinit.exe,c:\winnt\tsi32\tsircusr.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    TrackPointSrv = tp4serv.exe
    AtiPTA = atiptaxx.exe
    LTSMMSG = LTSMMSG.exe
    Synchronization Manager = mobsync.exe /logon
    TPHOTKEY = C:\PROGRA~1\ThinkPad\PkgMgr\HOTKEY\TPHKMGR.exe
    TP4EX = tp4ex.exe
    PRPCMonitor = PRPCUI.exe
    BMMGAG = RunDll32 C:\PROGRA~1\ThinkPad\UTILIT~1\pwrmonit.dll,StartPwrMonitor
    winnet = C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~2\Toolbar\winnet.exe
    WinStart001.EXE = C:\WINNT\System\WinStart001.EXE -b
    RunWindowsUpdate = C:\WINNT\uptodate.exe
    TkBellExe = "C:\Programmi\File comuni\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    Rundll16 = C:\WINNT\rundll16.exe
    QuickTime Task = "C:\Programmi\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    internat.exe = internat.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINNT\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=*INI section not found*
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=*INI section not found*
    drivers=*INI section not found*

    Shell & screensaver key from Registry:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINNT\3D_EAR~1.SCR
    drivers=*Registry value not found*

    Policies Shell key:

    HKCU\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry key not found*
    HKLM\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry value not found*

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    BabeIE - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~2\Toolbar\cnbabe.dll (file missing) - {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
    (no name) - C:\Programmi\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - C:\WINNT\System32\msiefr40.dll (file missing) - {0DDBB570-0396-44C9-986A-8F6F61A51C2F}
    Natural Language Navigation - C:\WINNT\System\BHO001.DLL (file missing) - {60E78CAC-E9A7-4302-B9EE-8582EDE22FBF}
    (no name) - c:\Program Files\Flt\Flt.dll (file missing) - {665ACD90-4541-4836-9FE4-062386BB8F05}
    (no name) - C:\WINNT\rundll16.dll (file missing) - {80672997-D58C-4190-9843-C6C61AF8FE97}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    BMMTask.job
    Snapshot schedulata.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [QuickTime Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\Programmi\QuickTime\QTPlugin.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

    [Shockwave ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\system32\Macromed\Director\SwDir.dll
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\Downloaded Program Files\RdxIE.dll
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/14283a9fa39a619af515/netzip/RdxIE601_it.cab

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\DOWNLO~1\xscan53.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003050501/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    [{C7B05B62-C8D7-438C-840B-4994DAAA8EEE}]
    CODEBASE = http://webpdp.gator.com/v3/download/pdpplugin5094_hd3ptdmgainads.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\System32\macromed\flash\Flash.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [SpeechControl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\DOWNLO~1\SPEECH~1.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.directxtras.com/speaksforitself/download/speechplugin.cab

    [{FC327B3F-377B-4CB7-8B61-27CD69816BC3}]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\Downloaded Program Files\SNDbMark.dll
    CODEBASE = http://www.getweathercast.com/WeatherAutoCAST0010.cab

    [MultiDist]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\DOWNLO~1\MulDist.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://xbs.mtree.com/mt/dialers/fc/MultiDistFC.CAB

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating ShellServiceObjectDelayLoad items:

    Network.ConnectionTray: C:\WINNT\system32\NETSHELL.dll
    WebCheck: C:\WINNT\System32\webcheck.dll
    SysTray: stobject.dll

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6.252 bytes
    Report generated in 0,130 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only


    Thanks a lot

    Matteo
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Check under Control Panel - Power Options

    It sounds like it may be locking up when going into 'hibernation'

    This is not uncommon, not all applications can handle hibernation. Disable it and see if the problem goes away.
     
  3. matteopagni

    matteopagni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Thanx kiwi but no....
    the hibernation mode is set on "never" while I'm working under main power source as I'm doing now....it goes on after 2 hours when I use the batteries but now the laptop freezes in less than one hour....
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166539

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice