1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Freezing at motherboard splash screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by chiba46, Feb 22, 2020.

Advertisement
  1. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Hello,

    Recently I've noticed my storage on my m.2 is getting low so i figured getting a new m.2 ssd with more storage.
    I know my laptop uses a 2280 sata m.2 so i figured a 860 evo would do the trick.

    now for the problem
    After installing the 860 evo it gets stuck on the motherboard splash screen. I'm not able to disable the splash screen to see what it's saying.
    first thing that came in my mind is the m.2 card is faulty. So i got my m.2 adapter plugged it into another pc and it worked fine externally after formatting the drive. I've also replaced the cmos battery just in case. but no luck either. I have to mention that my old m.2 will work so it's not a faulty connector either.

    I've been searching on the internet for a few days but can't really find anyone els with this sort of problem.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    What please is the make and full model of the laptop
    If possible send the serial number please usually on the base of the laptop, possibly underneath the battery, if of the removable sort

    Is this Samsung 860 EVO the OS drive or ONLY a storage drive

    What capacity is the 860

    If it is the OS drive have you cloned the previous M2 to the new one or are you intending to proceed on some other method
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  3. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13

    Laptop model is a asus rog gl702vm

    I do have a harddrive installed aswell but it's not boodable if you mean by boot device.

    Capacity of the m.2 is 1tb

    Problem is that it's not getting past the mb splash screen with this ssd installed. Works fine externally.

    oem m.2 ( able to get past the mb splash screen)
    [​IMG]

    new m.2 ( unable to get past the mb splash screen )
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    102,149
    First Name:
    Mark
    Hello and welcome to TSG!!

    Have you installed an operating system on the new drive? Or cloned the old drive to the new?
    Can you strike a key to get to a boot menu? Probably <F2> or <Esc>.
     
  5. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks!

    I cloned my os from the oem m.2 to the new m.2 using an adapter.
    And no nothing happens when pressing F2 or Esc.

    Today i've installed a new cmos battery because i thought it might have something to do with the cable not looking in the greates condition but with no result.

    let me also note that the bios is up-to-date version: 310
     
  6. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    102,149
    First Name:
    Mark
    Have you got two M.2 sots? If so, note this:
    upload_2020-2-22_13-21-10.png
     
  7. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Not exactly

    It's the same modal as the video linked below
     
  8. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    exact model is: asus rog gl702vm-gc004t
     
  9. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    102,149
    First Name:
    Mark
    The only thing I can think of is that the Samsung SSD is not compatible with your laptop, but I can't find anything that indicates this on the net ...
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    I cannot see any reason
    I do not believe that your laptop will not accept a 1TB M2 SSD
    I recommend you start again with the SAMSUNG data migration
    I have seen this succeed when other 3rd party clones etc have failed on M2 drives
    As both slots will accept M2 SSD drive interface I suggest you use the internal slots
    https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/tools/
     
  11. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    I'll try that

    However i don't think it's a software issue.
    Even if nothing is on the m.2 it should go to the bios but it doesn't it get's stuck at the mb splash screen.

    If i use my oem ssd it does not get stuck,
    If i use nothing it does not get suck,
    If i use the new ssd without os or partitions it get stuck at mb splash screen,
    If i use the new ssd with os and partitions it also get's stuck at mb splash screen,
    Also my laptop has one m.2 slot
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  12. thrilltale

    thrilltale

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    When I have a problem like this, I like to narrow it down by removing any variables. The first thing I would do is to remove the SSD and see if you can go through POST and boot into the BIOS/UEFI setup. If it does, then it's most likely an issue with the SSD. I'd then wipe the SSD and see if you can go past the part that it's freezing. Perhaps try and do a clean installation of Windows via USB on the drive and see what happens. It could be a compatibility issue, a hardware fault or software issue related to the clone. If it works fine with a clean installation, then you know that it's a problem with the clone.
     
  13. chiba46

    chiba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks for your reply.

    I am able to go through post after removing the ssd.
    The part where it freezes is the motherboard splash screen ( first thing you see when you power on the pc )

    I have an m.2 adapter to usb. ( externaly ) It's able to connect with my pc and install software so know it's not a faulty ssd.

    Seems more like a compatibility issue, it's strange that i'm not able to find anything about this online

    Just a thought though, could it have something to do with the 'oem ssd' being 3d-nand and the 860 beign v-nand?
    or my RAM not releasing memory when powered off and trying to connect to my new m.2 with corrupt data
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    I thought your laptop had two M2 slots
    That is the problem one often encounters without the serial number
    as I suggested you send

    I thought there was something on the New M2 as you had I thought cloned it
    If I am wrong I apologise.
     
  15. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    102,149
    First Name:
    Mark
    I tend to agree with chiba46. It does seem to be a hardware issue. Or, at least, compatibility.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Freezing motherboard splash
  1. Nikoloz1436
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    122
  2. Thomaszee
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    198
  3. tomwebb64
    Replies:
    40
    Views:
    1,470
  4. alcaillou
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    197
  5. Dank3
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    217

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1240669

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice