1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

freezing computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by drewhill, Oct 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. drewhill

    drewhill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    When I leave my computer off for a long time (eg overnight) and turn it back on it will run for a few minutes then freeze. I have formatted my harddrive and tried 2 different operating systems which makes me think that it's a hardware problem. After I turn off my computer and then start it up right away it will work fine. Does anyone know what the problem could be?

    thanks

    drew
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    More info please. What hardware and most importantly what O/S?
     
  3. ahhoe

    ahhoe

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    344
    check that all the connections and cabling are secure. Try reseating the ram as well.
     
  4. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Could be a bios problem... Could also be a drive controller..
     
  5. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Theres a very slim chance that it could be ur cpu getting too hot. If theres dust on the heatsink, clean it and see if that works. As i say it probably isnt the cause, but its worth a try.
     
  6. drewhill

    drewhill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I found out that I am missing my video card driver and my sound card driver. Also that my power supply only goes up to 250w but i've heard 2ghz athlon's require 350-400. I've narrowed it down to these 2 things. Any one have any guess on which one it is?
     
  7. Rusty1952

    Rusty1952

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Hi and welcome. A 250W P/S is a little on the skimpy side for a Athlon @ 2G. Especially more so if u are usin more than 1 (Ide Atapi Drv, Hard Disk) Devices + x number adapter cards ? I'd opt to upgrade that PSU, irregardless.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170012

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice