1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Freezing installation

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by adz 2326, Jul 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. adz 2326

    adz 2326 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Hello,

    I've had a computer without a motherboard for ages, finally had the time to buy the board and sit down and set it up and it wont work. FYI, the board is an Abit SG-95; i keep booting from the windows XP home disc, i format the HD and the installation begins after reinstalling as usual. But part way through the installation, at random intervals, the computer freezes and i have to start again. I have already tried an alternate RAM module (infact i got so frustrated i tried two differents ones), I put the processor from that computer into another and it worked fine, even while playing a very demanding MMORPG. I have also tried another hard drive and that hasnt seemed to solve the problem. Im not using any other external devices, so i am guessing that is it most likely the problem? Anyone else ever had a similar problem? Im stumped because i just bought the motherboard and didnt expect that to be thing that had broken. I would be grateful for any feedback,

    ADZ
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,935
    Some things to check.

    1 Your power supply. You are not trying to use a 20pin ps with a 24pin board are you? In addition using a low quality ps will cause problems.

    2 Since the system posts, I would run memtest on the board/ram before attempting an install. Note this runs from bootable media; either CD or floppy so there is no need for an os to even be installed.

    3 The temps. Since you did not post what cpu you are using, I assume a prescott or pentiumD. Let the temp stabilize while you are in the bios then check it. You should see <55C; above that and it is probably overheating when you attempt an install of the os.

    FWIW abit builds good boards however using a sis chipset for an intel build is just asking for a problem. I would rma the board and go with a board running a 945/965 chipset.
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,935
    BTW it would help if you posted exact specs on your parts along with links to those parts.
     
  4. MaverickUK

    MaverickUK

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Hi,

    Have you tried installing Windows XP with just one RAM module installed? This usually cures 99% of these issues, so hopefully it will be the same for you. For some reason, Windows XP does not like dual-channel or more than 1 module installed during installation.

    Nick.
     
  5. adz 2326

    adz 2326 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks for such a quick reply guys,

    The link for the motherboard is below, I did have a look at the temperature for a while and it went no higher than 54&#730;, although that is higher than my other computer where the temp. stays at about 42&#730;. BTW, i am using an Intel pentium 4 processor. I have also tried one RAM module which hasnt made a difference either. I had a thought while at work today; could it be the graphics of the motherboard? Should i try another graphics card?

    http://www.abit.com.tw/page/uk/moth...hp?DEFTITLE=Y&fMTYPE=LGA775&pMODEL_NAME=SG-95

    The IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® 4 processor 600 sequence:
    http://www.intel.com/cd/channel/res...cessor/processors/pentium-4/feature/index.htm (its either a 630 or a 631, cant recall off the top of my head)
     
  6. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
  7. adz 2326

    adz 2326 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Thats the last time i make a mistake like that, it could have potentially damaged my processor. To be fair, The mistake is that of the man who i spoke to on the phone who told me it was compatible with all pentium 4 processors! Thank you for the support Nick, Mclarenvj and crjdriver :p
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597747

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice