1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Freezing

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kelvax, May 22, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kelvax

    Kelvax Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    My computer freezes when playing certain games. It completely locks up, unable to do anything. The games include Rust, Fortnite, Dauntless, CS:GO, and Satisfactory. It's not corrupted files or over-heating, already checked that. My computer meets the requirements, and everything is up to date. I have some suspicions that it is the graphics card, but no solid evidence. Thank you!

    INFO:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9600K CPU @ 3.70GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 12
    Processor Count: 6
    RAM: 16303 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 1862 GB (1168 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASRock, Z390 Phantom Gaming 4-IB
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    What have you tried besides the check on temps and system files - please
    That saves me making a suggestion for you to simply reply - tired it already.
     
  3. Kelvax

    Kelvax Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Not much else, haven't been able to find any help.
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    That CPU has integrated graphics
    The motherboard has
    1 x D-Sub Port
    - 1 x DVI-D Port
    - 1 x HDMI Port
    on the I/O plate
    disconnect from 1070 port
    connect to graphics on I/O
    you may have to enter firmware to make integrated graphics primary display

    OR you may have to open case and take out card.
    HOW LONG is it since you opened case and cleaned out any dust from fans and especially cooling fins of CPU if applicable if sometime it is a job to do anyway.

    See if it still crashes.
    If it does we then know that it is NOT the card or its driver.
     
  5. Kelvax

    Kelvax Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry man, but that made no sense to me. I'm not too tech savvy, so you are going to have to dumb that down, a lot, for me. I'm literally 13, so I know nil about computers.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    Go here
    https://www.asrock.com/MB/Intel/Z390 Phantom Gaming 4/index.asp#Specification
    on the list scroll to Rear panel I/O
    that is the plate where you mouse keyboard speakers, LAN etc connect
    Now look at the images on the top of the page and you will see one of the I/O - input output connections
    Your graphics card is NOT connected there it is connected further down on another plate at the rear of the computer

    Then follow the guidance on my earlier post
     
  7. Kelvax

    Kelvax Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    I unplugged the HDMI from the graphics card into the I/O, but said no signal. More than likely misinterpreted your instructions.
     
  8. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    Most computers you have to remove the graphics card for it to switch over to the onboard graphics.
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    Indeed, as I posted
    You will not now connected to the I/O graphics be able to enter BIOS setup, as of course you have no display
    The easiest way is open the case - check as I said for dust build up and take out the card.

    If you do not fell competent to do that job reconnect to the graphics card, enter BIOS setup
    On the post screen, the black with white screen you see when you power on it will tell you to enter setup press ? (the key) probably F2 or delete

    In setup you will find an option to make display either the integrated graphics or the card
    See your manual section 4.6.2 Chipset Configuration
    http://asrock.pc.cdn.bitgravity.com/Manual/Z390 Phantom Gaming 4.pdf

    Primary Graphics Adapter


    Select a primary VGA. there you have the option to select the card in the PCI Express slot or the integrated graphics. Choose integrated graphics. Save and exit the BIOS setup.
    Shut down
    Reconnect to the I/O plate HDMI
    and then power on.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2019
  10. Kelvax

    Kelvax Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry about the wait, card was really hard to get out and put back in. It still crashed.
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    I cannot really follow your last post
    Are you saying that it still crashed using the integrated graphics in the processor by connecting to the HDMI on the I/O plate
    OR
    are you saying that you did not try that and simply removed the card, then put it back and reconnected to the card
     
  12. Kelvax

    Kelvax Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    It still crashed with the integrated graphics.
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    Well it cannot be the graphics card -
    Further examination is required but I am signing off as I am in the UK
    Did you examine the inside of the computer for dust build up on fans etc

    I will be back online about 1800 hrs UK time it is now 0100
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    Go here
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/minitoolbox/
    download Mini tool box
    Right click icon when downloaded click run as admin
    Click to check
    Last 10 event viewer
    Installed Programs
    and List Devices - ALL

    Then click GO
    The on desktop open txt file
    Right click
    select all
    copy and pate to reply please
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1227532

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice