1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Frequent Disconnects from Internet for the past week Please Help!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Opprimo, Oct 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Opprimo

Opprimo Thread Starter

This is my first time on this site, so I hope I'm posting in the correct section. Over the past week I have been experiencing frequent disconnects in my internet service. I have called my ISP four times since this began, which resulted in them giving me a new Modem, and replacing the Filter on the outside of the house, but none of this has helped the issue.

I especially notice the disconnects when I am playing on-line games (World of Warcraft, League of Legends), and it causes any and all games to be un-playable. They also occur when I am just browsing web pages. Sometimes the disconnects happen every 5 minutes for an extended period of time, and then I could have steady internet access for up to an hour if I am lucky.

If anyone has any ideas on how to fix this problem, please help!! IDK if you need my computer specs, but I've pasted them below.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8173 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 1907626 MB, Free - 1743876 MB; E: Total - 476938 MB, Free - 368484 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-970A-D3
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry