1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Frequent disconnects on cable/router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ggon, Mar 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Problem: The internet connects fine, but every couple of minutes it will disconnect for a couple of seconds. It's not a big deal when browsing, but it's disastrous when downloading big files or playing online games.

    What I've tried so far:
    -Resetting the modem. No change.
    -Reconnecting the modem/router completely. No change.
    -Replacing the main splitter. Slight change, but problem came back eventually.
    --Original problem came with the tech's 2 way 5-1002 mhz spliiter.
    --I tried replacing it with a 3 way 5-1000 one. The modem on 7db and cable on 7db. It worked fine for a couple of days.
    --Problem comes back today. Moving the modem to any of the 3 outputs doesn't fix anything. Moving it to 3.5db actually causes a short timeout every minute when I try to ping yahoo (as a test).
    --I've also tried a 2 way 5-900 mhz splitter. It was the worse one of all.

    Other info:
    The internet went down to the entire block at the start of the year. No one knew this of back then so we made a call to comcast, and they scheduled for a tech. A couple days later, we decide to get a new modem from the comcast center just to make sure it wasn't our modem. Some problems with activation prevents us from knowing if it was. We get back online somehow the next day, which is also the same time the tech came. He decides our numbers are weird and adds in a splitter for the internet and tv (which leads into another splitter for each room), and an amplifier for the tv. In the middle of this, another tech stops by and tells us the entire block was down and he said he fixed it now, he doesn't stay long. The first tech finishes installing everything and leaves. All is fine for a couple of days, until a week later and we start experiencing frequent disconnects.

    We've tried calling comcast again, but they say the connection is fine on their end and the problem is with our router. When I ping the router and the modem directly, there are no dropped connections. It's only when I try to ping anything on the internet when the problem pops up.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,978
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is every one having the problem ?

    see if its a dns issue by doing the following three PING tests and post the results here and then repeat when it disconnects and post the results here



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    IP Config /All

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 02, 2012 10:51:39 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 03, 2012 10:51:39 AM

    Default Gateway:

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 0ms

    Google:

    Pinging google.com [74.125.225.36] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.225.36: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=55
    Reply from 74.125.225.36: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=55
    Reply from 74.125.225.36: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 74.125.225.36: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 74.125.225.36:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 18ms

    3rd:

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 39ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 39ms

    EDIT:
    It's very difficult to time these tests at the same time when it disconnects. The dc are random. For example, when I use ping yahoo.com -t, it will go on for a while, then 1-5 request timed out will pop up every 2-10 minutes or so. It will reconnect automatically after that, then the cycle continues again.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,978
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try doing the same but with just the IP address of yahoo you get back or 209.183.226.152 which is this site
    if that does not drop then its probably a DNS issue
     
  5. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 42ms, Maximum = 58ms, Average = 46ms

    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=384ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 384ms, Maximum = 384ms, Average = 384ms
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,978
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Done. Doing a ping -t test right now to see if anything has changed.
     
  8. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    It didn't fix anything. The problem is back again.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,978
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so both pinging the name and the number both disconnect - correct
    also
     
  10. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I'm not the only one. Even a computer connected directly to the router is experiencing it.
     
  11. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Even connecting the modem directly to the computer doesn't fix it.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,978
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sounds like the equipment or the line to me
    as you said at the start of the post

    I would talk to comcast again - and you purchased the modem from comcast - correct
    you may want to see if there's any firmware changes possible on the modem - what's the make and model of the modem - but its possible comcast have their own firmware on the modem any way- i don't know enough about that ISP
     
  13. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    The problem has gone away when I reset the modem to factory default and restarted it. There are times when the problem does go away on it's own, so I'm not sure if this is one of those times or if resetting it really did anything.

    What I did exactly:
    -Reset it to factory default, which didn't fix anything.
    -Restarted it, and the problem went away so far. Running on 1 hour without any time outs so far.
     
  14. ggon

    ggon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Unfortunately the above solution isn't too great. The connection is somewhat unstable and lags often. It probably won't be too long until it starts timing out again.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1043555

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice