1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fresh install XP but no internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Canvas, Dec 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Canvas

Canvas Thread Starter

Hey guys i seem to being have some trouble with getting my old pc back on the internet, i know somethings about pcs but im not that good with networking,

Now i rolled back my drivers for the VIA ethernet card,
    this now says it has no connectivity,
    I have tried doing the netsh winsock release, still no help.

One thing I do find strange is this.
    [​IMG]

arent they ment to be 0.0.0.0???

Hope to hear from you soon,
    Canvas

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    169.254.x.x usually means windows cannot find a dhcp service so assigns that IP
    it may be a firewall blocking

Have you installed all the drivers and chipset after the fresh install

can we see a device manager screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X

post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.