Friend having computer problems.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ingeborgdot

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
492
Another one of my friends called to come an look to see what was wrong with his computer. It is a home built computer built in July of 07.

Here is the problem. I went and checked it out and this is what happened. I turned it on and just played around for a while and it worked fine. It ran smoothly, had good speed and looked just fine. I started doing some more things and opened up a couple browsers. I then went and turned on media player when the browsers were on and started listening to music. The screen got a little fuzzy and all the words and pictures etc went multi colored and the machine froze. The one thing I noticed though was that the speakers had some tat tat tat tat sounds continuously coming out of the speakers. I forced shut down and and restarted and tried the same things to have the same result. I know it is not media player that caused this to happen because media player was not opened when it happened to him. He just had several tabs and apps open at the time.

Video card going bad? PSU? CPU? Memory?

These are the components of the machine.
Ultra Black Case w/450 Antec Smartpower power supply





GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 Socket AM2

NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard





2 - Seagate Barracuda ES ST3320620NS 320GB
7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive







AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz
Socket AM2 Processor Model ADA4600CUBOX






Rosewill RCR-FD200 All-in-one USB 2.0 Black
3.5" Card Reader with 1.44MB Floppy Drive






Logitech 967692-0403 Beige & Black USB + PS/2 RF Wireless Ergonomics Desktop Comfort Laser Mouse Included





LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model SHD-16S1S-05





Sony NEC Optiarc 18X DVD±R DVD Burner with
12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model AD-7170S-0B





CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400





XFX GeForce 8500 GT 256MB PCI Express Video Card w/DVI
It is raid 1 and one of the hdd went down a couple of months ago that I replaced for him.
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,969
The PSU could be the problem, in my opinion and based on what you have listed a 450w PSU is probably a little on the weak side and as the system is 3+ years old its output will of reduced due to ageing, I would test with another, good quality higher wattage PSU if you have one.

Also you could download and install HWMonitor and run that, that will look at voltages and temperatures over time. A voltmeter at source is the best way to check the outputs if you are happy doing that.
 

ingeborgdot

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
492
Well, here is what has been happening also. For the last couple of times I was working on it if I would shut it down it would not power back up. When I hit the power button it would do a quick surge and then shut back down again. I would have to shut off the psu, hit the power button, turn the psu back on and it would start up.
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,969
Im still thinking the PSU is a likely candidate, faulty ones can cause some really wierd and wonderful things to happen.

Do you have access to any higher wattage PSU that you can at least test with, perhaps one out of your own machine? If it works and is stable then chances are the current PSU is aged and weak, therefore stuggling to supply the voltages etc. that the machine needs.
 

ingeborgdot

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
492
I ran memtest for 24 hours and no errors. I put in a new psu and still the same problem. What next??
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
8,450
Open Control Panel/Admin Tools/Event Viewer/System and Application.
Look for red entries that recur at the the time of the shutdown.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
8,450
You should be looking at the text, which identifies the problem associated with the entry. Double clicking the entry will give more details.
Entries that recur frequently are suspect.
 

ingeborgdot

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
492
After talking to someone I removed the video card from the 16x1 video slot and placed it in the other 16x2 video slot. I worked the machine to death and nothing happens now. It seems to work fine but what am I losing with this? Why would this work and not the other slot? It may go bad after they start really using it but at this time it seems to work.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top