1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

From Vista to OEM XP Pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by OBE17, Jan 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OBE17

    OBE17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    I have one Acer T180 that ran Vista. I bought a OEM copy of XP Pro and installed it and have had some troubles. As usual, I had trouble with the onboard sound but I downloaded drivers from Acer and that is fixed. It was good to hear that Windows Start up song ! But I still have a problem with SEARCH and Windows Media Player. It says it can't find a COMPATIBLE DVD DECODER. Any suggestions about the SEARCH or DECODER?
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,961
    First Name:
    David
    Did you check that this machine was compatible with XP before installing XP?

    Some Vista machine will not fully run XP as it was designed to.
     
  3. Wepynx

    Wepynx

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    (y)
     
  4. OBE17

    OBE17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Thanx for the quick reply, Dave. I have had this XP version for several years. I run it on another machine that had 2000 and this one that had Vista. The problem happened everytime. I ran it on this very machine for a while. I just started using this one again because it had a "beep" problem which was fixed with a re-seating of the RAM. I wanted to try to get it to run 100% like two Dell machines I have that had XP Pro from the factory. I formatted the harddrive and installed it but it does the same thing. First, the sound device on the motherboard always gets lost and I have to get drivers from Acer, and the SEARCH won't work and I've never been able to get that working. Now Media Player won't play a DVD because it says there's no compatible decoder installed. It didn't cost that much to download. I think it was less than $100 when I bought it. But it doesn't work like a "full" version.
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,961
    First Name:
    David
    Where did you get this copy of XP that you are trying to install?
     
  6. OBE17

    OBE17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    I don't have the receipt right-at-hand, I would have to look thru my CC transactions of the past few years. As I said, it has worked but not really up to par. e.g. SEARCH doesn't work on either of the machines I've installed it on. And I had that sound problem both times which I found a fix for. I Googled XP Pro and got some contractor who sold it online. I didn't buy it from Microsoft but it does have good numbers. i.e. it is a legal copy.
     
  7. OBE17

    OBE17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Oh, and as for whether this machine CAN run XP Pro, when I go to Acer website to download drivers for the onboard sound I have to choose which OS came stock with the machine and the choices are Vista or XP. So I guess it's capable.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086808

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice