From Vista to OEM XP Pro

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

OBE17

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
51
I have one Acer T180 that ran Vista. I bought a OEM copy of XP Pro and installed it and have had some troubles. As usual, I had trouble with the onboard sound but I downloaded drivers from Acer and that is fixed. It was good to hear that Windows Start up song ! But I still have a problem with SEARCH and Windows Media Player. It says it can't find a COMPATIBLE DVD DECODER. Any suggestions about the SEARCH or DECODER?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,923
Did you check that this machine was compatible with XP before installing XP?

Some Vista machine will not fully run XP as it was designed to.
 

OBE17

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
51
Thanx for the quick reply, Dave. I have had this XP version for several years. I run it on another machine that had 2000 and this one that had Vista. The problem happened everytime. I ran it on this very machine for a while. I just started using this one again because it had a "beep" problem which was fixed with a re-seating of the RAM. I wanted to try to get it to run 100% like two Dell machines I have that had XP Pro from the factory. I formatted the harddrive and installed it but it does the same thing. First, the sound device on the motherboard always gets lost and I have to get drivers from Acer, and the SEARCH won't work and I've never been able to get that working. Now Media Player won't play a DVD because it says there's no compatible decoder installed. It didn't cost that much to download. I think it was less than $100 when I bought it. But it doesn't work like a "full" version.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,923
Where did you get this copy of XP that you are trying to install?
 

OBE17

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
51
I don't have the receipt right-at-hand, I would have to look thru my CC transactions of the past few years. As I said, it has worked but not really up to par. e.g. SEARCH doesn't work on either of the machines I've installed it on. And I had that sound problem both times which I found a fix for. I Googled XP Pro and got some contractor who sold it online. I didn't buy it from Microsoft but it does have good numbers. i.e. it is a legal copy.
 

OBE17

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
51
Oh, and as for whether this machine CAN run XP Pro, when I go to Acer website to download drivers for the onboard sound I have to choose which OS came stock with the machine and the choices are Vista or XP. So I guess it's capable.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top