1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Front USB 2.0 ports

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cscsonline, Apr 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cscsonline

    cscsonline Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    I have not been able to get the front USB 2.0 ports to work on my box. I've tried moving the jumpers for USB on the motherboard from OOx to xOO as the MOB book suggested but still nothing. The rear ports work fine.
    Any ideas? Thanks
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    One thing that comes to mind is to make certain you have them plugged in properly on the boards connector.
     
  3. cscsonline

    cscsonline Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    This may be the problem. I have no connectors to the MOB as none were provided by Antec or Asus. Can I buy connectors?
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Then where are the front usb connectors going to ?
     
  5. phatmattrat

    phatmattrat

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    I had trouble with this too. I had 2 sets of connectors to the mobo, each set had 4 different "plugs". The 4 were VCC 1, Data -1, Data + 1 and Ground 1. The other set of four was the same but instead of the 1, it was always 2 so example: VCC 2, Data -2, etc. The pins on my mobo were setup as such:

    TOP - . . . . (4)
    BOTTOM - . . . . . (5)

    9 pins. The way I set it up is such (left to right)

    TOP - VCC 1, Data -1, Data +1, Ground 1
    BOTTOM - VCC 2, Data -2, Data +2, Ground 2

    I just tested my setup by putting in my Sidewinder wheel and XP immediately recognized it. So it works. Try doing that... the labels on your connectors might not be the same but just use common sense, it most likely uses the +1, +2 stuff.
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Now mine has the four pin under the five pin so I guess cssconline is going to have to refer to the mobo manual..
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221910

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice