Frontpage 2003

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

LauraMJ

Administrator
Hi all,

I'm interested in using Frontpage 2003 to do some basic maintenace on an existing site. Most what I want to do is simply change some text and pictures and what not ocassionally.

I have never used Frontpage before, and I am not very well acquainted with the behind the scenes maintenance of websites, either. So, my question is: what book would you all recommend as a tutorial? What book, in your opinion, is a relatively easy to understand book to help me use Frontpage for what I want to accomplish?

f1_champ

Banned
Do not use front page, if you use frontpage you ar egonna have all kinds of compatibility issues with browsers other than IE.
Try NVU, its got an easy to use UI and I dont think you would need to read books to learn how to use it and best its free.

Well, with WYSIWYG editors (such as frontpage, dreamweaver, nvu, etc.) you usually don't have to buy any books since anything you want to do is a few mouse clicks away :p

If you want to learn how to code on your own, you can try "html for dummies" although personally I think the "for dummies" series of books is kinda lame and written by dummies lol

LauraMJ

Administrator
Well, with WYSIWYG editors (such as frontpage, dreamweaver, nvu, etc.) you usually don't have to buy any books since anything you want to do is a few mouse clicks away
Well, that sounds encouraging! So you feel it should be fairly easy to see how to use it?

LauraMJ said:
Well, that sounds encouraging! So you feel it should be fairly easy to see how to use it?

Yeah, but like f1_champ said I'd suggest NVU. Frontpage is very glitchy and you'd need special frontpage extensions on your webspace. Frontpage is also a big bandwidth eater, so the sites are usually slow to run.