Frontpage Issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

debruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
4
Hope somebody can help me here. When I try to insert a photo Gallery and save, i am instructed to open a frontpage based webpage and save directly to it. i have no idea what this means!!! Can anybody out there help?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
832
Where are you trying to insert the photo gallery? Are you trying to creating a web page?
 

debruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
4
no I am inserting a photo gallery into a page I have already created
 
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,746
First Name
Anne
So...it's not trying to save to your /image folder, huh?

By photo gallery, do you mean clipart gallery??

Insert the picture. Cut it, and Paste special-as a picture (enhanced metafile). See what happens when you save the page then.
 

debruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
4
No, not clipart, actual photos (.jpeg files) that I had mailed to me. Theere is an option to set them up as a slide show or photo gallery. However either way, it wont even allow me to save the page on the hard drive!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,746
First Name
Anne
Okay...what do you mean emailed to you?

Do you right-click the photo and choose Save as? Is THAT when you cannot save them? When you open this thing, can you THEN right-click a photo and Save as? or Save picture as?
 

debruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
4
I'm sorry, i'm not explaining it properly, BTW thanks for you trying to help.

Whats happening is as follows:
A friend mailed me 20 photos. I saved them to my Hard Drive. I am now trying to put them on my clubs website - astoriagaels.net - but this is where I hit a problem. I can upload them all individually or do them by links, etc. But there is an option in Frontpage to create a slide show or a Montage of these photos with captions, etc. I began to use this option and created the slide show, captions also. However to FTP this page I obvoiously need to save it first and this is where i have a problem. I get the prompt to open a frontpage based website and save directly to the page. So my problem is with Frontpage not allowing me to actually save the slide show after I create it and before I FTP it up to the site itself.
Hope this explains it better!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,746
First Name
Anne
Did you use FP to set up the rest of your web? Check around under Tools-Options and some other option-type areas (the usual, you know), and see if you can find where to change the publish settings. You should be able to save it to a web on your hard drive. Perhaps the problem? Did you create a web on your hard drive first? You need to do that! File-New web....etc. Perhaps, if you did not create a web on your hard drive, it's assuming you want to publish directly to the web, which some people do, but I would NEVER suggest.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top