1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Frustrating CRYPT32.dll error

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by hapapinoy24, Jun 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nhmdp

    nhmdp

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I had thought mine is shutting down n restarting now i realized it was going to sleep...by the way how to restart the laptop? I use Samsung. It has only power button and there is no button for restart...:( what do I do?
     
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,656
    You have to insert a Windows 7 CD to boot from in order to do the fix. If you don't have it you can borrow one from a friend for this purpose.

    You can follow the instructions in this post:

    http://forums.techguy.org/8383924-post35.html

    BTW, it looks like Windows Updates were not the cause of the problem but rather Adobe Flash updates.
     
  3. nhmdp

    nhmdp

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    is there any way where we can restart the laptop without the restart button?
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,656
    What restart button are you referring to? How do you start it normally, by pressing the Power button, no?
     
  5. nhmdp

    nhmdp

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    i was able to restart now...then i pressed F1 n then F8 but i am not finding Repair Your Computer...what should I do?
     
  6. nhmdp

    nhmdp

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Is it not possible to repair without the windows CD?
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,656
    You need a CD to boot from. If you can't borrow Windows 7 from someone you can download Puppy Linux to boot the machine and then copy the file to the proper directory. Unfortunately, I can't walk you through that procedure. I'll see if I can find someone else who can.
     
  8. nhmdp

    nhmdp

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Ok at last I was able to fix it. Tried all the things that you all said here. Thanks a lot everyone. I was scared that my laptop will not function again. And I did not require the CD. Once again thank you.
     
  9. hapapinoy24

    hapapinoy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, so I went to the other thread located at the link below and found a couple posts with suggestions I will try.

    URL: http://forums.techguy.org/windows-7/1057061-crypt32-dll-error-cannot-start-2.html

    Also, I watched the Youtube video that was posted. I got the Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit CD from someone I know, too.

    MY QUESTION: Since I have Win7 64-bit, should "CD\Windows\System32" instead be "CD\Windows\System64" for my computer?

    I don't want to test this solution/method until I get an answer for my question above. Thanks for all the help from everyone who posted so far.
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Not if it's crypt32.dll.

    By the way, you never need the Vista or 7 DVD to replace files. They are all located in the Side-by-side folder, which is also why sfc doesn't need the DVD.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,656
    Thanks for the clarification Elvandil. Admittedly, I don't know enough about Windows 7 so apologize for any misinformation. :)
     
  12. hapapinoy24

    hapapinoy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks.

    I don't know where the side-by-side folder is located, so I used the Win7 CD/DVD I got from a friend.
     
  13. mhd1360

    mhd1360

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    So , did you fixed it ?
     
  14. hapapinoy24

    hapapinoy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Good News: mhd1360's solution worked and my computer is working again. Woohoo! Thank you.

    However... Two messages popped up on my screen after the successful boot. 1) A notification for an Adobe Flash update popped up (I ignored it/clicked on "Remind Me Later"); 2) System Restore failed (clicked "OK" or whatever).

    I tested Firefox again and went to ESPN.com to watch a video. The video is lagging, and it is causing Firefox to act very "buggy." Does anyone have any solutions to fix this problem and/or advice on what to do about the Adobe Flash Update that popped up?
     
  15. hapapinoy24

    hapapinoy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    More pop-ups:
    - Firefox update
    - Java update

    Should I go ahead and update these? (Do you think this will help minimize any "bugs"/lags?

    Also, I still want to address the Adobe Flash Update since that was what caused all this mess. Should I update that, too?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1057037