1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

frustrating VNC setup

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by deuce868, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. deuce868

    deuce868 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    I am tring to set up VNC with XDMCP login on a debian server I have running.

    I have been trying to follow the instructions from both:
    http://www.sourcecodecorner.com/articles/vnc/linux.asp &
    http://www.linux-mag.com/2003-03/guru_01.html

    After going through both sets I am still unable to connect. Now it appears it is because the ports are not open as necessary. When I run the telnet or nmap on the vnc or port 177 I get that the port is closed. I do not have a firewall active on the machine at this time. iptables - L gets me three chains all set to accept.

    If I skip the XDMCP stuff and just run vncserver command manually on the server it works. I can then connect, but I only get the black mesh screen and no login screen and such. So it seems that the vncserver command is ok, but the Xvnc command that these iunstuctions use might be lacking something? I am really unsure at this point.

    Anyone have any similiar problems getting vnc running and might be able to give me a hand?

    Thanks a ton.
     
  2. Roo

    Roo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Hiya,

    Ok your problem is down to port forwarding on your router. ;)

    Kind Regards
    Roo
     
  3. deuce868

    deuce868 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    Can you be a bit more specific? The machine I am trying to connect from is inside the network. There is no router between the desktop and server. The server is not acting as a router. There is a single network interface on the server.

    Thanks
     
  4. Roo

    Roo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Ok I will be clear there is no server or box operating as the gateway to the internet. however there is a router that is connected and acts as your gateway for all you machines including internal servers.

    Therfore you have to set up port-forwarding on the router for each internal ip.

    The same works for ssh if you want remote access to a box on a network with a private IP like 192.168.XXX.XXX or 12.XXX.XXX.XXX
    etc.

    You need access to the router. IP-Tables do a good job, you might want to bookmark http://www.linuxguruz.com for other *nix help too.

    Kind Regards
    Roo
     
  5. deuce868

    deuce868 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    my point is that I am not accessing this box through the internet. they are on the same subnet with IP addresses 12 apart. xxx.xxx.xxx.187 and xxx.xxx.xxx.199. There is no router and IPTables is set to accept all on all three chains. This is all on in internal network.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168261

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice