1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

FTP between 2 computers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by szidane, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. szidane

szidane Thread Starter

Hi,

I am new to networking. I have 2 PCs and a DSL internet connection. Recently i bought a Belkin router and now both my computers are simultaneously able to access the internet. I would now like to transfer files from one PC to another. Can someone tell me how i can do this

thanx

2. madbeatchemi

madbeatchemi

First you should have shared folders on each computer. Then you need to go to Windows Explorer, click on the Tools menu, and click Map Network Drive. Then you can either type in the name of the folder via the format \\servername\sharename, or you can just click browse and search for the shared folder. You can also search through My Network Places to locate the shared folders as well. If you have not already done so, you must also be sure that both your computers have unique names, and the same workgroup name.

3. VaporTrace

VaporTrace

A N D ? that little box that says file and printer sharing in the network configuration.

4. madbeatchemi

madbeatchemi

Sorry Vapor, i wasnt thinking in terms of Win 98 or Win ME

5. VaporTrace

VaporTrace

Sorry bout what? Now I'm really confused. Maybe I'll get it about 2pm tomorrow afternoon.

I guess most people set up the file sharing for XP at install time. If you didn't you'll need that checked in the network connection properties also.
    [x] File and printer sharing for Microsoft Networks

6. madbeatchemi

madbeatchemi

yeah thats what i meant Vapor. I was thinking you meant the way in Win 98 and ME how you must press the "file and print sharing button" in order to make Shared Folders an option.

7. VaporTrace