FTP between 2 computers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

szidane

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
6
Hi,

I am new to networking. I have 2 PCs and a DSL internet connection. Recently i bought a Belkin router and now both my computers are simultaneously able to access the internet. I would now like to transfer files from one PC to another. Can someone tell me how i can do this

thanx
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
32
First you should have shared folders on each computer. Then you need to go to Windows Explorer, click on the Tools menu, and click Map Network Drive. Then you can either type in the name of the folder via the format \\servername\sharename, or you can just click browse and search for the shared folder. You can also search through My Network Places to locate the shared folders as well. If you have not already done so, you must also be sure that both your computers have unique names, and the same workgroup name.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
216
A N D ? that little box that says file and printer sharing in the network configuration.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
216
Sorry bout what? Now I'm really confused. Maybe I'll get it about 2pm tomorrow afternoon.

I guess most people set up the file sharing for XP at install time. If you didn't you'll need that checked in the network connection properties also.
[x] File and printer sharing for Microsoft Networks
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
32
yeah thats what i meant Vapor. I was thinking you meant the way in Win 98 and ME how you must press the "file and print sharing button" in order to make Shared Folders an option.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
216
I am tempted to send this to Bill.

LEAVE THE CRUDDY MENUS ALONE.

To tell you the truth I went and made sure it was in with the protocol stuff there. Strange how you do domething enough times, you see something and just click it not acutally realizing you actually did the click 'cause something never clicked the first time. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top