1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

FTP Command

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by computerwiz5, Sep 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. computerwiz5

    computerwiz5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    I need to duplicate a folder via ftp, is there a command promt or other program that can do it? It for backing up purposes.

    Thanks,
    Danny
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Duplicate a folder? You cannot create a folder with the same name. Try makedir if you are doing it from a command line. Most windows based FTP apps allow you to script processes like yo are attempting to do. Is this a folder on a hosted web site? Most ISP's already do daily backups for you.
     
  3. computerwiz5

    computerwiz5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    Yes, i need a script to copy the folder and rename the folder, i think i can do it through a php script, but i dont know php.

    Danny
     
  4. cnelson04

    cnelson04

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    896
    wait i'm kinda confused to you just want to back up your website? If so i no c-panel you can creat a back up, it's extramly easy if you have an almost up-to-date virson.. And if your useing a free host with out c-panel you'll have to talk to them about back ups. :) Hope that helped.
     
  5. moorsey38

    moorsey38

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Correct me if i'm wrong, You want 2 files with the exact same contents uploaded onto your FTP..
    If that is correct follow the instructions below..

    Go to the file in which you want to duplicate, Right click on the file and click copy.
    Then go to the folder in which you would like to place the duplicated version of this file, right click and press paste.
    A loading bar should come up, Once loaded (Copied) the name of the folder should be "Copy of (Name of folder)"

    This then means that the two exact files will have different names, This then allows you to upload it onto FTP..
    Thanks,
    Moorsey38
     
  6. computerwiz5

    computerwiz5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    I cant do that on ftp
    i want to duplicate it and put it in a backup folder on my server. I think i need a specific program or script.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/275718

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice