Full Color

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fevola25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
196
Have an old computer which isnt big enough for XP so Ive put windows 98 on it for a mate. How do i get the full 256?? colors?? Ive been in the control panel and all that but it doesnt seem to work... I have done it before its just i cant remember! lol

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
99
If 256 color is not listed in the display settings in control panel you may need to update video drivers.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
99
Go into control panel and double click on the display icon and under the settings tab see if it list 256 color, if not in control panel under system go to device manager and click on the display adapter and that will tell you what the display adapter is. Right click on it and select properties and then update driver. It may prompt you for the windows disk.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
99
No bother at all. Updating the driver really should provide you with 256 color.
 

fevola25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
196
yeh i know!! thats what i thought.. it didnt ask me to put in the 98 disc though.. should it have done that?
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
99
Not if the cab files are already on the hard drive. Did that give you the 256 color?
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
99
In control panel under display\settings what is the screen resolution set at and what is the color quality set at?
 

fevola25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
196
its set at 16 colors and 640 x480 pixels.. and i cant move the bar further along either..
 

fevola25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
196
Oh no have i lost you now?? Seemed like we were just getting somewhere! lol
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
99
The Standard PCI Graphic Adapter (VGA) is used by win98 as default. You need to find what video card is installed in your system and get the proper drivers for it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top