1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fun For The Kids!!!

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by GoJoAGoGo, Oct 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GoJoAGoGo

    GoJoAGoGo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    42,011
    First Name:
    Joe
    Here's another Educational/Fun site for the kids to enjoy. Kids can have fun playing games and sports while also learning educational subjects.

    :cool:

    http://www.bonus.com
     
  2. sarahknz

    sarahknz

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I don't know what's on that site but when I click on your link I just get a file download request.
     
  3. GoJoAGoGo

    GoJoAGoGo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    42,011
    First Name:
    Joe
    sarahknz:

    The link is working fine for me. I've reposted it again in this message in case that might make a difference.

    http://www.bonus.com/

    :)
     
  4. sarahknz

    sarahknz

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I saved the file this time and the only readable text said index.html.

    I use IE6 on win2k

    Ok on mozilla but please, no sound!

    I'm not that fussed but if it's your site you might like to check out what's happening.
     
  5. GoJoAGoGo

    GoJoAGoGo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    42,011
    First Name:
    Joe
    The link works fine for me. I have sound and all the links within the website are working. I use Windows ME and IE6. I don't know what to tell you on why you are having problems with this URL.

    :confused:
     
  6. sarahknz

    sarahknz

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I just ran a spider over your site and it liked it :)

    I clicked on a link http://www.bonus.com/bonus/list/ and that triggered mayhem and I got

    http://www.bonus.com/bonus/scooter/scooterize.htmp?loc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Ebonus%2Ecom%2Fbonus%2Flist%2F%3Fscooterize%3D1&useragent=Mozilla%2F4%2E0+%28compatible%3B+MSIE+6%2E0%3B+Windows+NT+5%2E0%3B+Alexa+Toolbar%29&refv=1&referrer=&entry=bonus&SERVER=www%2Ebonus%2Ecom&SCREEN=1024x768

    Now the problem there is that the requested url is too long at 284 characters. I think the limit is 256. After that you have to use post to submit a form etc. You may need to consider a different hitcounter.

    From what I can see the site looks good and my junior programmers (6yrs & 4yrs) would be keen to have a scout around.
     
  7. sarahknz

    sarahknz

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    When I go to the main page using mozilla this is what the url turns into:

    http://www.bonus.com/bonus/scooter/scooterize.htmp?loc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Ebonus%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ehome%2Ehtml%3Fscooterize%3D1&useragent=Mozilla%2F5%2E0+%28Windows%3B+U%3B+Windows+NT+5%2E0%3B+en%2DUS%3B+rv%3A1%2E2%2E1%29+Gecko%2F20021130&refv=1&referrer=&entry=bonus&SERVER=www%2Ebonus%2Ecom&SCREEN=1024x768

    you can acheive alot of this using .htaccess

    You site isn't set up for the search engines either so you need to have a bit of a tidy up there too. Good forums to check out are seochat.com and searchguild.com.

    If you'd like to discuss any of this further send me a PM or icq me on 168335548.
     
  8. sarahknz

    sarahknz

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    is this your site? if not, I'll leave you alone.

    Thought I'd try the "Set" game. Looked good for my guys.

    url: http://www.bonus.com/bonus/scooter/scooterize.htmp?loc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Ebonus%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ehome%2Ehtml%3Fscooterize%3D1&useragent=Mozilla%2F5%2E0+%28Windows%3B+U%3B+Windows+NT+5%2E0%3B+en%2DUS%3B+rv%3A1%2E2%2E1%29+Gecko%2F20021130&refv=1&referrer=&entry=bonus&SERVER=www%2Ebonus%2Ecom&SCREEN=1024x768

    got a java.net.socketpermission error.
     
  9. GoJoAGoGo

    GoJoAGoGo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    42,011
    First Name:
    Joe
    Hi sarahknz:

    Glad you where able to connect to the site and are enjoying it.



    :cool:
     
  10. peril0us

    peril0us Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    906
    You get that file download error when you use a proxy for some reason.
     
  11. peril0us

    peril0us Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    906
    sorry im just trying to get out of this "Im new" state lol :(
     
  12. 700mb80min

    700mb80min Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,025
    This is one i found on my isp homepage, The Planet W . I didn`t visit the site yet so have a look and see what you think.:)
     
  13. sarahknz

    sarahknz

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I connect using a local ISP. "If" I use a proxy it's just part of the setup and I'm just a normal customer

    From what I could see of the url it's having problems with the fact that I have THREE toolbars installed.
    Well, ok, that's extreme but if they want to have such "alternative" methods of hitcounting then they should have some sort of error handling built in to cater for us techies who have lots of toys. I beleive it was the error in the truncated url which caused the problem.

    just my 2c
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169466

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice