1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Gaaaah, why god whyyyyy????

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by kevineatspen, Sep 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kevineatspen

    kevineatspen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    I'm desperately hoping someone can help me with an infuriating hanging problem I'm having, no matter what Ii do I just can't seem to find out what it is. I have othere problems (just recently I get disconnected for no apparent reason whereas before I never did) but I dont think its related to this because this hanging has happened since I got this computer but recently it seems to be getting worse.Basically every few links I click, I get a hang of around 40 seconds with no bytes recieved or sent.It is getting to the stage where I do want to kill myself hopefully you can stop me!
    By the way I'm using IE 6, windows 98 SE and a 56k dial up connection, spybot, virus problems and theyve not solved the problem.It wouldnt be so bad except I do part time work online so you can understand it is annoying me!
    Again here is my HJ log but someone looked at it and said they saw nothing untowards but what the hell...

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EPSON\EBAPI\SAGENT2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KHOOKER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PCI AUDIO APPLICATIONS\MIXER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S10IC2.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\TEXTBRIDGE PRO 8.0\BIN\INSTANTACCESS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CMMON32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.swfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home/0,,10304,00.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by blueyonder
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=webcache.blueyonder.co.uk:8080
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX (disabled by BHODemon)
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SiS KHooker] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\khooker.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PTSNOOP] ptsnoop.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C-Media Mixer] C:\Program Files\PCI Audio Applications\Mixer.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C42 Series] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S10IC2.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C42 Series" /O5 "LPT1:" /M "Stylus C42"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InstantAccess] C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\INSTAN~1.EXE /h
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\REGIST~1.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SAgent2ExePath] C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\REGIST~1.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Startup: ScanPanel.lnk = C:\ScanPanel\ScnPanel.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Send Image to Photo Library - file://C:\Program Files\MGI\MGI PhotoSuite III SE\Temp\MGI00000.html
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: YExplorer1_8US.CAB - http://photos.yahoo.com/ocx/us/yexplorer1_8us.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37864.7002430556
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003030601/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F04A8AE2-A59D-11D2-8792-00C04F8EF29D} (Hotmail Attachments Control) - http://sea1fd.sea1.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab

    Undying love and a free picture of a penguin if ANYONE has any idea whats causing this...
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    How is your modem feeling in all of this.

    These "pauses" are quite common if you are using a "winmodem" (low cost PCI modem).

    Its uncertain what causes the pauses, but consider that the modem relys 100% on the CPU telling it what to do every clock cycle. Therefore its competing with every program and avery bit of hardware on your PC.

    Full hardware modems (external RS 232 serial connected) are not reliant in that way, they have their own controller.
    USB modems are as bad as winmodems usually, or even worse.

    I am not saying all winmodems give trouble, as the majority work fine. Its just that when they don't, tossing them is usually easier than trying to discover the cause, which may have no easy fix.

    If you are already using an external hardware modem, please ignore this ...

    I will have my penguin medium rare thanks, and hold the salad.
     
  3. kevineatspen

    kevineatspen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    How do I know if what I am using is one of these.

    And obviously I don't expect ther to be no pauses all the time but 40 second ones, sometimes as often as every 3 clicks??Its crazy.

    It seems quite regular, maybe its trying to connect to something but can't or doesnt need to??

    God knows, but thabks for a reply anyway, your input is appreciated.
     
  4. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    If its an internal modem, on a recent computer chances are very high (around 99%) its a winmodem.

    You must know if its an internal modem, where does the phone cable plug into?

    A little modem with lights on it, or the main CPU case of the computer?

    What I am saying, if its a winmodem and its doing 40 second pauses, you might need to toss it.

    A lot of people swear by their winmodems, but a lot also swear at them.

    I speak from experience at having to give up on any solution. I purchased external hardware modems, and the problem disappeared for good, and connections were rock solid..

    The winmodems do make a satisfying "clunk" sound when you chuck them in the bin though.
     
  5. kevineatspen

    kevineatspen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    lol. yeah it is internal I wasnt sure what you meant.Maybe I will have to start thinking about alternative options...
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167949

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice