1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

GAH! I just got a WEP code ..

Discussion in 'Networking' started by liliky, Jul 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. liliky

    liliky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I just put a wep code on my computer .. how do I make it so the router and internet are all hooked up with it??
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You enter it on the router first and then on the computer when prompted.
     
  3. liliky

    liliky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    how do I enter it onto the router? there's no buttons..
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Using the configuration software. If you don't know how to set up your router, I would suggest reading the manual. It will answer a lot of questions for you. If you don't have a manual, post the make and model, and I'll find a place where you can download it.
     
  5. liliky

    liliky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I'm not sure on anything.... I don't have a manuel but it says on the bottom DSL-3001 does that help?
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  7. liliky

    liliky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    it didn't work
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    What didn't work??????????? :confused:

    Please remember that we can't see what you are seeing....you need to provide very clear details.
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Typically you open up a web browser, log into the router, and then enable WEP. This will give you a key that you then enter into the computer.

    But you don't do it the other way around. That puts an key on the computer's wireless configuration. But since there is no matching key on the router, it won't work.

    For the details on how to configure your router, either double check the instructions that came with it or download them from the maufacturer.

    The link to download manual is at:
    http://support.dlink.com/downloads/

    Select the correct model number and click on the GO button
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593279

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice