1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Game crashes, memory corruption, pc reboots without warning...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Hajile, Sep 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hajile

    Hajile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Hi, a freind of mine if havinging some probs with his comp. Here's the info. Hopefully someone can help. :)

    He has a 2.8 amd athlon 128 graphics card and 512ram (He doesn't know the ram type)

    His prob:

    "Well my computer occasionally resets itself for no reason. Every game I play performs an error so I have to shut down the game. Sometimes when I turn on my pc it tells me my system has failed the memory test and on 1 of my games it tells me i cant play because of memory corruption."

    I have attached a screen shot of the error he gets when a game crashes.

    Thanks

    http://members17.clubphoto.com/_cgi...ow.pl?album_item_id=35653433', '520', '600');
     
  2. Annorax

    Annorax

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    It is possible the RAM chips are defective. Replacing them might help.
     
  3. Hajile

    Hajile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks for the reply. Any other ideas anyone?
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    It's a pretty good bet that if the POST reports memory errors then the memory is on it's way out. If he's running an Athlon it's some sort of DDR memory I would guess. Has he always had error messages of this sort?
     
  5. Hajile

    Hajile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Yup, it's happened since he got the computer 6 months ago.
     
  6. akita

    akita

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    how many sticks of memory has he got?
    if he has two remove one and see if there is still a problem, if so swap memory around till you find out which one is bad... return it to retailer for replacement
     
  7. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    Also, if the memory he currently has is of the generic (cheapo) type, then I would recommend getting some decent reliable memory.

    Make sure it's a good name brand.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/161616

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice