Solved Game issue graphic driver

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mantrupe

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
15
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1 Single Language, 64 bit
Processor: AMD A6-6310 APU with AMD Radeon R4 Graphics, AMD64 Family 22 Model 48 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 7128 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon R5 M230, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 465 GB (336 GB Free);
Motherboard: LENOVO, Lancer 4B2
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

Can someone pls. help me some selective games have this warning message appear every time I run them but still playable can someone help me finding this driver version? because I can't find it on manufacturer website

Do I really need to update it?

http://www.mediafire.com/view/ke9o0yah73dqdbx/Untitled.png <---the image is in this link

Thank you
 

Mantrupe

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
15
Sir Do I need to uninstall the Catalyst Control Center before installing the driver in the link?


If yes? how? pls. help me I don't have any idea

Thank you
 
Last edited:

Mantrupe

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
15
after following all the instructions its not working pls.

By the way I get my drivers from the lenovo website, since I bought my laptop from one of their branches

Every time I tried to install these new drivers from amd website these always happen that's why I can't update it

help pls. thank you
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,685
What is the full model of the laptop and serial/product number
https://support.lenovo.com/gb/en/solutions/find-product-name

according to the spec you posted you have the A6-6310 processor
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Puma/AMD-A6-Series A6-6310.html
which has the radeon R4 series integrated graphics

HOWEVER some laptops have a separate graphic card and the specification shows yours as the R5 M230
M referring to the laptop version

The R4 integrated graphics is a different driver
https://www.amd.com/en/support/prev...s-apu-for-desktops/a6-6310-radeon-r4-graphics

and according to the spec I can find without the product number
http://browser.geekbench.com/geekbench3/732895

your laptop had indeed the R4 integrated graphics
MY GUESS now is that you have previously tried to install the R5 driver BEFORE you cam to the site and that is why the system info utility showed your graphics as the R5 M230
 

Mantrupe

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
15
So what should i do? well I make a restore point just in case, what driver should I installed? thank you I really have no idea

Should I go back?
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,685
I cannot get a correct result on those from Lenovo
The serial number comes back as Intel or Nvidia graphics which is obviously not correct
The model number returns this
https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/in/en/...archProduct&searchType=4&keyWordSearch=G40-45 Laptop (Lenovo) - Type 80E1

Go device manager
scroll to display adapters, expand that entry, what is shown please
then right click that entry - properties
driver tab
what is shown there please
 

Mantrupe

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
15
I rolled back to my previous driver which is the new link that you sent above since I need to use my laptop to my school. That driver had issues every time I run a specific game which I stated above. That's why I really need help.

Thank you
That what is shown on the device manager the image below:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,685
Well device manager definitely shows you have the R5 M230 as well
What driver is shown for that

Many laptops have switchable graphics, using the integrated graphics on low demand and the dedicated graphics card when necessary

Although it refers to a Toshiba computer the situation is the same with your Lenovo see post 2 on here please
https://forum.toshiba.eu/showthread...c-chip-Radeon-R5-M230-on-Satellite-L50D-B-11N

That said the R5 M230 is only capable of running many games at very low performance levels
https://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-R5-M230.108655.0.html

and whichever of the graphics you use you are likely to receive similar messages on games of higher demand
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top