1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Game Problems w/ Nvidia Geforce 3 w/ win xp pro

Discussion in 'Games' started by mixedupmxer, Feb 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mixedupmxer

    mixedupmxer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    This is my problem I am trying to play Battlefield 1942. When I go into the game sometimes it will let me play for like 5mins then the game will freeze, other times only a second or 2. Also every now and then when I start the game will flicker or I will get fruity looking colors and the grafix will be messed up. This is the Same case when playing Doom 3.


    I have a
    Soyo SY-7VCA Motherboard
    Windows XP Professional
    Nvidia Geforce 3 (w/ newest drivers from nvidia)




    Please help if you can I just want to play games.
     
  2. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    Ok lets troubleshoot:
    1.) lets outrule any over heating issues- remove the side panel of your computer. Face a house fan into the case. and play the game that way.
     
  3. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    2.) Lower the graphic settings to lowest. IF the game works, Move the settings up gradually.
     
  4. mixedupmxer

    mixedupmxer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the help but, I did try what u said but it would do it even on the lowest settings, I ended up switching my video card to my other motherboard which is slower and now I can have the game on the highest settings and it runs fine. I think it was a combatibility proublem.... Now I just gotta figure out what to do with the motherboard that is laying around that is faster then the one I'm using.
     
  5. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    Check to see if your bios reads as follows, depending on your bios:
    the soyo motherboard:

    Assign IRQ to VGA: Enable
    PnP O/S Installed: Enable
    VGA Pallet Snooping: Disable
    PCI Bursting: Disable PCI Latency Timer: 128 Peer Concurrency: Disable
    Video BIOS Shadowing: Disable
    Video RAM Cacheable: Disable
    USWC: Disable/UC
    Pipeline Cache Write: Disable
    PCI 2.1 Compliance: Enable (Only needed when using PCI graphic cards)
    Passive Release: Enable
    Delayed Transaction:Enable
    VGA Boot Sequence:AGP (When using an AGP graphics card)
    Graphics Aperture Size: 128MB (When suing an AGP graphics card)
    AGP Turbo Read Mode: Disable
    AGP Turbo Write Mode: Disable
    <br>
    also what is the card showing up as in Device manager?
    also do you have another video card to see if that works in the soyo mobo?
     
  6. mixedupmxer

    mixedupmxer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I posted earlier that I got the game running good on the best grafics now I can't get it to run good w/ the lowest and I didn't change a thing, also my sound seems like its in fast forward even when I turn 3D Sound Accel off.

    I do not have another video card to try testing.
    I didn't check the Soyo mother board for the bios settings because that would mean switching everything around again.

    Thanks for your help Vanillag1rl

    Also am not super good w/ computers
     
  7. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    so... is this post closed?
     
  8. mixedupmxer

    mixedupmxer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Well I just did some testing, the game runs good in smaller levels but in bigger ones has problems, would that be a Ram issue?

    I still Need help w/ my sound now, I don't have anything special its a Legacy VIA AV97

    As far as the Geforce problem I think I'm all set with that.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328658

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice