Game Sounds Funny

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

KWKRNU

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
4
I JUST INSTALLED XP ON MY MACHINE. I UP GRADED FROM ME. I HAVE LOADED ALL MY GAMES BACK ON THE HARD DRIVE AND NOW NASCAR4 DOESN'T SOUND RIGHT. I HAVE OTHER SIM GAMES AND THEY ALL WORK FINE. ON NASCAR4 ALL THE SOUNDS WORK ACCEPT THE ENGINE NOISE AND IT SOUNDS LIKE STATIC FROM A BAD AM RADIO! I HAVE DOWN LOADED ALL THE UP DATES FROM MICROSOFT, NVIDIA, SIERRA GAMES, AND ANYTHING ELSE I CAN GET MY HANDS ON , BUT TO NO AVAIL. I REALLY DON'T WANT TO GO BACK TO THAT PIECE OF JUNK ME OS. IF YOU HAVE A SUGGESTION PLEASE PUT IT IN "NEWBIE" TERMS!
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya and welcome

Do you have the latest, latest patch:

http://www.sierra.com/download/display_results.php?ftp_id=5054

As this is just one bit of sound .wav, going back to the other OS is a bit extreme. Lets try some things first.

Okay, go to Control panel | Sounds. On the Sounds tab, look for your program using the scroll bar. Look for speaker icons on any of the instructions? Click on one of the instructions, say Engine. It may be corrupt. Have a listen using the Play button. If it still sounds crackly, we'll replace it. Under Name, scroll down to a sound .wav. Click on it, have a listen, then apply it.

Regards

eddie
 

KWKRNU

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
4
THAT IS AN AFFIRMATIVE ON THE PATCH. WHEN I GO TO THE SOUNDS TAB THERE ARE ONLY SOUND OPTIONS FOR WINDOWS AND MICROSOFT PROGRAM EVENTS, (I.E. MICROSOFT NET MEETING, WINDOWS, MEDIA PLAYER, ETC.). I DO NOT SEE ANY OTHER PROGRAMS IN THIS FRAME.

THX, KWKRNU
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Okay, what is your sound card? There are quite a few people who have problems with XP, as its not the fastest OS around for gaming, so they say.

Do you get any error's?

This seems to be a place where NASCAR is discussed more:

http://forums.bhmotorsports.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum&f=2

But, lets try the sound card first. Go to Control Panel | System. Device Manager. Under Sound, expand the + to find your sound card.

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Messages
82
Sorry I'm not much help, but I have the same ISSUE in Xp. My Unreal Tournament game sounds very static-y. It used to work. I gotta find out what I did to make it work last time.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Lets see if your NIC is conflicting with anything. Worth a bash. This can be for both of you.

Go to Run and type MSINFO32. On the left choose hardware Enviroment, then IRQ. Copy/paste the list here. As I don't use XP but 2000, if you cannot copy/paste, then go to File and look for Save as Text. Then, just highlight all, copy/paste here later.

Regards

eddie
 

KWKRNU

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
4
Here is what I have found. I can go to DirectX Diag. sound tab, DirectX Features, and reset the hardware sound acceleration level to basic, standard, or full and no sound comes out of the speakers, when I push the test button. I get a message that says: "Your card does not support sound buffering. Sounds will only play back from software buffer". Also, I can select No Acceleration and get the sound from the speakers when I push the test mode button. In the No Acceleration mode, the device type toggles from WDM to emulated. If I leave it on this setting and go to the game there is no sound at all coming from the game. Thanks for all your help I really appreciate it. If nothing else I am learning a few things!!!!
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
KWKRNU: What is your soundcard and also which version of DirectX do you have?

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Messages
82
I have LATEST everything... but I found that...

My Vid Card, Sound Card, USB Controller, ACPI Compliant, and NIC are all using IRQ 9.

This happened in 2k also but was never a problem. It could be a conflict. I hadn't thought of that. But I think NT has a different way of using IRQs.

IRQ 9 Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System OK
IRQ 9 NVIDIA GeForce2 Ultra OK
IRQ 9 VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller OK
IRQ 9 VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller OK
IRQ 9 Lite-On Communications Compatable PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter OK
IRQ 9 Creative SB Live! (WDM) OK


Any suggestions, or is this fine and not the cause?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

The reason I asked about the IRQ's is that if your NIC card is sharing with your sound card, this may cause problems. Have a look here to see:

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=50561

As you can see, same program, same kind of IRQ lists:

IRQ 9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus OK
IRQ 9 Realtek RTL8139(A) PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter OK
IRQ 9 Intel 82801AA SMBus Controller OK
IRQ 9 Crystal WDM Audio Codec OK
IRQ 9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
But as he never got back, we can assume that the moving of the NIC to another slot on his motherboard solved this issue.

eddie
 

KWKRNU

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
4
EDDIE,
LET ME MAKE A RUN AT THIS IRQ THING. I HAD TO WORK LATE AND DID NOT HAVE A CHANCE TO GET BACK HERE. IRQ 0 System timer OK
IRQ 1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard OK
IRQ 3 NVIDIA Vanta LT (Compaq) OK
IRQ 3 SMC EZ Card 10/100 PCI (SMC1211TX) OK
IRQ 4 Communications Port (COM1) OK
IRQ 6 Standard floppy disk controller OK
IRQ 8 System CMOS/real time clock OK
IRQ 9 Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System OK
IRQ 10 PCTEL Platinum V.90 Modem OK
IRQ 10 VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (WDM) OK
IRQ 11 VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller OK
IRQ 11 VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller OK
IRQ 12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse OK
IRQ 13 Numeric data processor OK
IRQ 14 Primary IDE Channel OK
IRQ 15 Secondary IDE Channel OK
THERE IT IS FOR GOD AND EVERYBODY! WADAYA THINK?
KWKRNU
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Well, looking at your IRQ's, for the sound card you have this:

IRQ 10 PCTEL Platinum V.90 Modem OK
IRQ 10 VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (WDM) OK
Now, from what I can see, you have onboard sound so this may not be causing the problem. You may want to check out the link above that I gave phrozenmayhem.

If you're certain that there isn't onboard sound, then try the moving of the cards to see if that would work. If not, or you truy it and it still dosen't help, let me know.

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
69
I have a hypothesis as to why this is happening. When I was having a similar problem I had a weak PCI graphics card. It could not handle Win XP. Because of this it was being overworked by the visualizations in windows media player. After getting a 32mb agp card all problems have ended. So check your graphics card it may not meet XP's needs even though it told you everything is ok.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top