1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Game won't play...!?

Discussion in 'Games' started by tburg, Nov 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    I have recently installed a game for one of the boys and when we try to play it we get this:

    Fatal Error
    Couldn't init 3D Engine in hardward mode: 640 x 480 16 bit
    Couldn't init 3D Engine in hardware mode: 640 x 480 32 bit
    Couldn't init 3D Engine in hardware mode: 640 x 480 24 bit
    No suitable screen mode

    Any ideas what's up here?? Pretty "standard" home PC here....13 gig, 64 meg, I'm sure I have a 3D card...? Any ideas? Thanks much!
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,091
    Hiya

    What was the name of the game? Also, just to doublecheck on the video card, lets have a look at it.
    Control Panel | System. Device Manager. Under Display will be your video card. What is the name of it? Also, is there a yellow !
    Hopefully not.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks for your reply. The game is "Beyond Pearl Harbor - Pacific Warriors". When I go to Device Manager there is a "Display Adapters" line, and under that it says "SiS 530"...? Also, game requirements are: win98 (which I have), 300Mhz Pentium CPU (I have AMD- ??Mhz, 64mg ram (got it), 100Mb hard disk space (got it easily), DirectX compatible 3D accelerated graphics care w/4MB Ram-(16MB recommended)..(don't know if I have this one!), DirectX compatible sound card (I think I have this one..??), 4x CD Rom. (4x?).
    Sorry I don't know more about my system but if you can help it would be much appreciated! Thanks again eddie.
     
  4. wedor

    wedor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1999
    Messages:
    4,504
    SIS 530 probably means you have on-board video, that's going to make it difficult to play a game like that. What brand/model of system is this?
     
  5. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    When I go to System Properties/General tab :
    AuthenticAMD
    AMD-K6 3D processor
    62.0MB Ram
    Do I possibly need to add a video card?
    I'm stumped! Thanks..... Terry
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,091
    Hiya

    Well, been along to SIS, and I have found this:

    http://www.sis.com/products/chipsets/integrated/socket7/530fea.htm

    Integrated Super AGP VGA for Hardware 2D/3D Video/Graphics Accelerators

    You may want to see if you have the latest drivers/patches:

    http://www.sis.com/support/driver/utility.htm

    Yours seems to be in only IDE driver.. The first table.

    Ah, have a look here first:

    http://www.sis.com/support/faq/gamefaq.htm

    Also, which version of DirectX do you have?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  7. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks, eddie for the help...here's what I get when I go into the DirectX Diag Tool - Under the "Display" tab:
    Device: Sis530
    Manufacturer: Sis
    Chip type: 530Rev A2
    DAC type: Internal
    Approx. total memory: 1.0MB
    Current Display Mode: 800 x 600 (16bit)(optimal refresh rate)
    Monitor: Envision D556
    Driver:
    Main Driver: Sis530v.drv
    Version: 4.11.01.1010 (English)
    Cerified: NO
    Mini VDD: SiS530v.vxd
    VDD: *vdd
    In "DirectX Features" it says
    DirectDraw Acceleration: Enabled
    Direct3D Acceleration: Not Available
    AGP Support: Not Available

    BUT, when I do the tests (click the test boxes) for both DirectDraw AND test Direct3D, the tests seem to work fine (for 3D test I see the tumbling colored cube!!).
    More info - When I check the DirectX Drivers tab it shows fourteen drivers listed - two of which have the yellow exclamations by them and are "not certified" these two are "esfm.drv" & "essmpu.drv"....
    What do ya think? Download new drivers? Or am I missing a main component here? Thanks to anyone for the help.....tburg
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,091
    Hiya

    First off, what version of DirectX do you have? It tells you in the first tab.

    If you have an early version, downloading the latest may help.

    eddie
     
  9. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    I have version 7.0 which is what it says is needed on the game. I'm wondering about the part that says "Direct3D Acceceration: Not Available" though...what's that mean? Thaaaaaanks! terry:confused:
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,091
    Okay

    There is an update. Version 8.1:

    http://www.microsoft.com/directx/

    The Direct3D Acceceration: Not Available may be because you don't have the latest.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  11. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks...I'll give it a try and let you know! terry:)
     
  12. rhettman5

    rhettman5

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    can you select "software renderer" instead of direct 3d when you set up the game, if so , this may solve the problem, hope this helps,... Rhett
     
  13. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Nope! It won't let me get that far. As soon as I insert disc and try to fire it up I get the Fatal Error message I mentioned at the start of this thread... And, I've installed the newest version of DirectX (8.1 i believe)...that didn't help either!...Thanks for the suggestions...any more?
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,091
    Hiya

    Where it said:

    Direct3D Acceleration: Not Available
    AGP Support: Not Available

    Is there an option to enable it? The SIS530 is your video card.
    Does this happen with any other 3D games?

    eddie
     
  15. tburg

    tburg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Hi eddie...nope...can't
    "enable" it.
    dunno why.. The only other problem I can remember having with a game is "Janes Combat" (or someithing along those lines) a veeerry detailed game where you have to learn how to land/take off/joint combat missions for different fighter aircraft. The graphics got a bit "jerky" there. I just "uninstalled" it cause I couldn't get it to work smoothly. I'm going to try "uninstalling" this game and reinstalling. Mebbe I can "enable" software rendering instead. Unless, of course, you all have any better ideas!! Thaaaaaaanks! tburg
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59147

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice