Games and Video Lag

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Roudra

Hi guys

So I had bought this laptop in 2015 and is about 4 years old now. When i first bought it games like GTA V, Minecraft, COD BO3, where running just fine I was getting about 40-50fps on high settings in most of the games. But I believe it was 2017 when everything when everything went downhill. Firstly, I had bought FIFA 17 and was experiencing sudden FPS drops to about 5-10 FPS every 5 seconds or so. So for 5 seconds the fps would be 40 then it would drop down to about 5-10. Also during this time Laptop temperature would be at about 85-95C! It was infuriating and I found a very weird fix for it. The fix was that everytime I started playing I would go into MSI Afternburner and overclock my GPU by a tad bit. This made the games run at a constant 50 fps but the temperature would still be very high( I believe that the my computer was thermal throttling during this time). I would like to mention that I had taken my laptop to a repair shop and they had replaced the fan inside and had cleaned the entire computer in 2017. Unfortunately the overclocking technique didn't work after a few months my laptop started lagging in every game possible so I bought a PS4 and I play on it nowadays for the most part. Now lets fast forward to the present...the main issue is that when I play any game even Minecraft my laptop lags and Minecraft runs at about 5-15 fps. I don't know why. I really want to play MC on pc as the controls are just way better than using a controller....thats it. Keep in mind that my CPU Temp is around 60C while running minecraft but my laptop still lags. Regarding the video issue, whenever I watch an HD Video which is 60fps my laptop again drops frames to about 5 while watching the video.Remember this doesn't happen when I watch an HD video on 30fps