Games crash to bsod

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
3d games crash, after random amounts of time with different errors 0x50, 0x8e.
Sometimes referencing the nvidia drivers.

barton 3200
msi k7n2 delta2 platinum
kingston dual tested valueram 2x256
nvidia 400u chipset
msi nvidia 5900xt card
420 raidmax psu
6 case fans
volcano heatsinkfan, all copper heatsink

memtest gives no errors after 8 hrs.

Tried reformat, tried sp1 and sp2 seperately, tried all drivers, from newest and beta, to just the msi drivers.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
Can you list everything on the label of the RaidMax PSU? The amperages for each voltage, and the amperage for the combined voltages....

How many hard drives and CD drives do you have?
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
ac output current 10a/5a
+3.3v +5v +12v -5v -12v +5vsb
26.0 a 32 a 13 a 0.5a 0.8a 2.0a
total watts output 420

I have a dvd drive, and a cd drive.
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
Sisandra light 05 reads the as follows:

cpu voltage = 3.18
aux voltage = 3.36
+3.3 v = 3.18
+5v = 5.11
+12 = 1.76
standby voltage =4.58
cpu core power =269w
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
New error just now irql_not_less_or_equal
with a stop 0x00

I get page_fault_in_nonpaged_area also
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
Well...the combined voltage thing would be nice, if you happen to see it, it should be somewhere around at least 250w.

Anyway, in case you couldn't tell, I'm leaning towards blaming the power supply...you're running a lot of power hungry devices, so a good power supply is required. Try running with as little devices as possible. Unplug fans, just leave the side of the case off, one optical drive, one hard drive, if your CPU is overclocked, bring it back to stock speeds, and see if it helps.
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
Ok, I tried running the pc with the video, all fans, and the heatsink fan all on another pc's power supply...Now I don't know if that would cover what you suggest...
but i'm willing to try anything...
do those voltage readings from sisandra mean anything to you....
like why is the +12v only 1.76

Also I'm running sound of the board to eliminate all pci cards.
Although i've heard that running sound on the board requires more from the cpu....

It's a 420watt powersupply.

And no overclocking doc is disabled.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
That voltage reading is probably just a bug or something, I wouldn't worry about that...if the +12 line were really running at 1.76, I doubt the computer would even boot.

Running onboard sound is fine, it does use a little more CPU power, but you probably won't notice the difference...as far as electricity goes, running the onboard is the most power-efficient.

So you have all that stuff powered on by another power supply that's near the case or something? That would work fine, but I would keep the video card plugged in to the same power supply as the motherboard, it probably wouldn't make a difference, but I wouldn't trust the video card getting power from 2 different sources.
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
Just tried your power suggestion, crashed and gave me an eq error, everquest is the game i'm using to test this. Having just reinstalled windows home edition.
So it's basically same symptoms as before, with the cd drive and the fans unplugged.
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
Tried unplugging everything...
Took out the sb live card, but had to put back in cuz the realtek audio on the board sucks.

I need some help please....!
Should I rma the vid card?
 

Un4Gvn

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
27
[Conflicts/Sharing]
Resource Device
I/O Port 0x00000000-0x00000CF7 PCI bus
I/O Port 0x00000000-0x00000CF7 Direct memory access controller

I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

IRQ 20 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 20 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller

IRQ 21 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 21 NVIDIA Network Bus Enumerator

Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xD7FFFFFF NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge
Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xD7FFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

Memory Address 0xE0000000-0xE1FFFFFF NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge
Memory Address 0xE0000000-0xE1FFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI bus
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge
I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000CFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000CFFF Creative SB Live! (WDM
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
If you have any other video cards, put them in before you RMA it, or try to borrow a friend's...

It's a clean install of WinXP, with the latest drivers for everything, correct?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top