games don' t work anymore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AlecL

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Messages
5
None of my games work anymore, I either get a black screen, then am sent back to windows with no explanation or the games just don't run. These are all old games that I've played a long time ago and haven't touched for years and now when i try them they don't work! I've installed the latest version of directx and scanned my computer for viruses, but still no luck.

Thanks for any help!
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
What operating system are you running now, and what games are you trying to get to run? If they're older, DOS-based games, it can be very annoying to get them to work, but if they're windows-based, they should work.
 

AlecL

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Messages
5
windows 98, and strange thing is everyone of these games has worked in the past. one thought that i hav is that too much is running in the backround and taking up so much ram (i only have 128, its an old pc) that the games can't run anymore.

isn't there some thing i can type in the run button (start menu) that'll allow me to permanently close programs that usually start up on their own so that they don't come back?

thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
1,230
Start
RUN
type in MSCONFIG Press OK or hit ENTER
Click on STARTUP tab
Uncheck anyting you do not wish to start up at startup.

LEAVE LOADPOWERPROFILER checked or your computer will not shut down properly all the time.


GOOD LUCK!!!
 

AlecL

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Messages
5
i guess my hard drive had errors or something on it, because after i checked it for errors my games worked again.
thanks for your help!
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
1
Originally posted by AlecL:
i guess my hard drive had errors or something on it, because after i checked it for errors my games worked again.
thanks for your help!
So what exactly did you do? I've been having the same problems.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
1,071
probably ran a scandisk and checked "fix errors automaticly" and also did a thorough scan.
systemtools-scandisk
 

AlecL

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Messages
5
i just went into safe mode and scanned my hard drive for errors and then defragmented it
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top