1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Games for win95/98

Discussion in 'Games' started by logoff, Dec 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. logoff

    logoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Hi, I've just bought a couple of Tom Clancy PC games from a charity shop.
    OK, should have gone to specsavers as I ignored the system requirements thinking that they would be OK on my system, as below.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3038 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 293488 MB, Free - 212578 MB;
    Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    Derrrrrr, they wont run in NT. Is there any type of shell/container that I can install them on my PC? If not, well its X-mas, so the charity are £8 better off. I'm not too bothered but would be nice to know if it's possible. Techies, get yer brains ticking!
    Cheers.
    Logoff :(
     
  2. sepala

    sepala

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    In most cases. the answer will be NO.. But if it is not working just because of the OS, then you can get the help of a Virtual Machine such as "Oracle Virtual Box"
     
  3. logoff

    logoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Great, cheers??? Err where does one get that?
     
  4. sepala

    sepala

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

    Anyway, you can use these software to check OS and all, but when it comes to SHARING VGA AND RAM, these programs already suggest sharing less than or equal to 50%... That is because then only the main system will run properly.. The meaning behind this is, you have 4GB RAM, you will be able to use 2GB for the virtual machine, and the game you are gonna play must be inside that limit
     
  5. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,936
    If you can get Steam (www.steampowered.com), check and see if the game is available there. If it is, activate the game using Steam (with your product keys). If it is available, you will then be able to download the games from Steam without using the CDs. The Steam installer will load all it needs to get the game running on your PC.

    This is how I got games like the original Doom and Wolfenstein 3D to work.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,966
    First Name:
    James
    If it needs DOS to run, you can use DOSBOX. If it's a true Windows 85/98, then try compatibility mode
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031218

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice