games

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

reed7820

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Messages
19
Everytime I go to a website to play a game (zone, excite, pogo, or games.com) it will start to connect to thier server but then will just stop and either get an error or just keep trying to connect. It has done this now for about 2 weeks. I have tried to do a scandisk and a virus scan but still doesn't help. Please Hellllllp. Reed7820
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
Welcome to TSG!
Have you tried deleting all the temp internet files.
IE\tools\internet options\delete temp files
click the delete temp Int files and select all offline content.
See if that helps.
Dave
 

reed7820

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Messages
19
I deleted the internet files but still no help. Could I have deleted something I needed in running applets. Please hellllllllllp.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
What IE version are you running? And what makes you think you may have deleted something to run applets?
Dave
 

reed7820

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Messages
19
I am running windows ME. I was trying to delete some things that I had previously downloaded and think I might have messed up (since that is about the time it started)but not sure.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
Reed I meant what version of Internet Explorer are you running.
Anyway WinME came with 5.5 so lets try this. Before we try this did you download Internet Explorer 6.0 by chance or are you running 5.5? At the top of the screen your on click help and then click about Internet Explorer give me the version info and the update version info.
Dave
 

reed7820

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Messages
19
Davey,
the version info. is 5.50.4134.0100
and the update versions infor is q269368 & Q279328
I really appreciate your help.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
Ok good you didn't update to IE6 that sould be eaiser.
You will have to leave the internet to do this next item. I want you to do a repair of Internet Explorer. After the repair is complete and you sign back in your homepage will be changed to MSN, do you know how to change it back to what you have?
After your back into the internet try the games.com site and see if that fixed it. If not there are several other thing we will have to do.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
How to repair
Go to start\settings\control panel select add-remove programs
scroll down to Internet Explorer 5.5 and click on it, now click the add\remove button and a option list will popup. Select repair and let it do it thing.
Dave
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
It should be it is listed under Microsoft internet explorer.
And make sure it is similiar to the one listed, I hace SP2 you probably will not.
See attached picture.
Dave
 

reed7820

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Messages
19
Dave,
I do not have anything like that , I have Microsoft things but nothing even resembles an internet version.
Matt
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
You are absolutly sure nothing for internet explorer is listed in the add\remove section? If you are sure......Then how long ago did you do this deletion of all all those programs you think caused this problem.
Dave
 

reed7820

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Messages
19
Dave,
I am positive. I did this I think about 2-3 weeks ago. SHould I try to download a 5.5 on one of my microsoft updates.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
reed7820
What a mess were in now. I was seeing if there was a way to recover the missing pieces of IE and there is nothing I found and there is no manual removal of IE 5.5 in WinME because that is its base program. Did WinME come preinstalled with your computer and did they give you the WinME CD with it. Not a RECOVERY CD.
Dave
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top