1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

games

Discussion in 'Games' started by reed7820, Nov 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Everytime I go to a website to play a game (zone, excite, pogo, or games.com) it will start to connect to thier server but then will just stop and either get an error or just keep trying to connect. It has done this now for about 2 weeks. I have tried to do a scandisk and a virus scan but still doesn't help. Please Hellllllp. Reed7820
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    Welcome to TSG!
    Have you tried deleting all the temp internet files.
    IE\tools\internet options\delete temp files
    click the delete temp Int files and select all offline content.
    See if that helps.
    Dave
     
  3. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    I deleted the internet files but still no help. Could I have deleted something I needed in running applets. Please hellllllllllp.
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    What IE version are you running? And what makes you think you may have deleted something to run applets?
    Dave
     
  5. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    I am running windows ME. I was trying to delete some things that I had previously downloaded and think I might have messed up (since that is about the time it started)but not sure.
     
  6. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    Reed I meant what version of Internet Explorer are you running.
    Anyway WinME came with 5.5 so lets try this. Before we try this did you download Internet Explorer 6.0 by chance or are you running 5.5? At the top of the screen your on click help and then click about Internet Explorer give me the version info and the update version info.
    Dave
     
  7. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Davey,
    the version info. is 5.50.4134.0100
    and the update versions infor is q269368 & Q279328
    I really appreciate your help.
     
  8. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    Ok good you didn't update to IE6 that sould be eaiser.
    You will have to leave the internet to do this next item. I want you to do a repair of Internet Explorer. After the repair is complete and you sign back in your homepage will be changed to MSN, do you know how to change it back to what you have?
    After your back into the internet try the games.com site and see if that fixed it. If not there are several other thing we will have to do.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    How to repair
    Go to start\settings\control panel select add-remove programs
    scroll down to Internet Explorer 5.5 and click on it, now click the add\remove button and a option list will popup. Select repair and let it do it thing.
    Dave
     
  9. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Davey,
    Internet explorer isn't on that list of programs at all.
     
  10. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    It should be it is listed under Microsoft internet explorer.
    And make sure it is similiar to the one listed, I hace SP2 you probably will not.
    See attached picture.
    Dave
     
  11. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Dave,
    I do not have anything like that , I have Microsoft things but nothing even resembles an internet version.
    Matt
     
  12. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    You are absolutly sure nothing for internet explorer is listed in the add\remove section? If you are sure......Then how long ago did you do this deletion of all all those programs you think caused this problem.
    Dave
     
  13. reed7820

    reed7820 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Dave,
    I am positive. I did this I think about 2-3 weeks ago. SHould I try to download a 5.5 on one of my microsoft updates.
     
  14. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    Give me a minute to check something out for you.
    Dave
     
  15. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    reed7820
    What a mess were in now. I was seeing if there was a way to recover the missing pieces of IE and there is nothing I found and there is no manual removal of IE 5.5 in WinME because that is its base program. Did WinME come preinstalled with your computer and did they give you the WinME CD with it. Not a RECOVERY CD.
    Dave
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58663

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice