Gaming Computer Question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
It seems like a good computer to use, but If you want to be sure contact them, I have dealt with them on several item from their services. They seemed to be pretty knowledgeable about their products.

Here is their contact info:

Sales Inquiries / Product Information 800.800.8300 Customer Service and Support 800.888.6111 Educational Sales (M-F 8AM-8PM EST) 888.278.4437 Corporate Sales / Licensing (M-F 8AM-7PM EST) 888.278.4437 Reseller Hotline (M-F 8AM-8PM EST) 888.736.4672 International Callers 305.415.2201 Para Clientes en Español 888.222.9800 To Fax Us An Order 305.415.2202
 

Tallokas

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
104
Thanks for the good info. I have never heard of this brand before today. I went into a Tiger Direct distribution center today and saw it. Normally I order parts from Newegg and then bribe my son to build it for me;) Can't ever remember having one right out of the box.

Thanks again for the help.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
Ive never heard of that brand.The only gaming computers i know are made by dell. The Ademo, XPS, and the Alienware.They arent cheap but should do what you are looking for.
 

Tallokas

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
104
Like most everybody else, I'm on a very tight budget and 1K is about as high as I can go. I would love an Alienware but it's probably out of my price range.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
I used to service a Systemax machine for a now defunct company. I never had to do much to this machine other than routine clean ups. They seemed to use pretty good parts except the machine I serviced had a cheap power supply, however I never had to replace the power supply in that machine.

If I recall correctly Systemax's main point of sales was the Home Shopping Network or another site similar to the Home Shopping Network. In my opinion on the machine I serviced it was in my opinion better than an Acer, HP/Compaq or Gateway.

In the machine you linked to, what I would want to know from them if I was considering that machine would be the make and model of the motherboard and power supply.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
That's a good point Win2k, I would to like to know more about the machine's internal hardware such as the motherboard and the power supply. Strange thing is that I keep hearing more about the failing motherboards rather than power supply.

No sense buying a Porsche if the parts are from a Bell Ranger helicopter.
 

Tallokas

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
104
Wow! Such good information - thank you so much.

The Alienware looks fantastic but I'm going to "try" and stay within my budget.

What got me started on all of this is a game. My current computer is adequate for my needs. I play the older games like Half Life, Far Cry, etc. I recently got Serious Sam BFE and it is a hog to say the least. It runs so choppy I can only play for a few minutes at the time and then I get queasy. So if I get a new computer it will be 99% for this game.

Is it feasible to get a whole new system just for a game? I don't know.:confused:

Thanks again for all your help.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
Either it be for a whole game or being used for something else, it seems like that you are on the right track and preforming a "system" update. You recognized that most games today are using more power and extensive programming and you are adjusting to those needs.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
2,450
Is it feasible to get a whole new system just for a game? I don't know.:confused:
It wont be for just one game. once you realize how good it plays. You will buy more:D

How old is your PC. If its old that would be a good reason to get a new 1.
Good luck on your purchase. and let us know how it turns out after you get it.(y)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
I would use the old pc as a ftp for data/server. That way you would not take up so much space for storing data and programs.....Jut a thought....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top