Gateway Mainboard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

EasyNow1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
151
Ok using a Gateway essential pc 566 C - sn 0019425807 - with w 2000 i e 6.0 . I need to reformat this pc then reload windows but i don t have the software i need to reload the mainboard and can t see it on the gateway web site. Does anyone know what i need to use can t figure it out - thanks . .
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
Look in Device Manager for anything marked with a yellow ! or as unknown . .

Right click on My Computer . . select Manage . . Device Manager
 

EasyNow1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
151
Opps i don t think that helps me with getting my main board to work after a reformating -

Hum . . .
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
I see that machine originally shipped with Win 98. I rebuilt one of those a couple of years ago and upgraded to W2k, and W2k had just about all the drivers I needed.

What I would do is go to Intel and download this;

http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/inf/sb/cs-009266.htm

and download you chipset driver and put it on removable media. If I recall correctly W2k had the chipset driver I needed, but I would download the one you need just in case.
 

EasyNow1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
151
Ok that doesn t help me at all i still don t know what to download - need a better link, i assume i need more then whats on the w2000 cd, i may try a w 2000 reload to see if that works before i reformat - byeee
 

EasyNow1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
151
Win2kpro-

Ok just downloaded both utilities, now i have to get them on a floppy and get umn on to the gateway pc then what do i do ! ? thanks -
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
Put the floppy with the chipset ID utility in the Gateway machine, access the floppy, double click on the executable, and it should run and identify the chipset. When it identifies the chipset, just wite down what chipset you have. After you reinstall W2k if it doesn't have the chipset driver, go to Intel and download and install the chipset driver.

I just identified my chipset with a later utility, and attached is a screen shot of what it identified.
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top