Gateway start up problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JCNovak

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
21
I have a Gateway 507GR that is a few months old, and every time I shut down or restart my computer I have a hard time getting it to start back up. What happens is that I get a black screen and then a message will appear saying "check pc or connection cable monitor is working." I do not have a Gateway monitor, its a generic monitor (brand is MAC or something like that.) This happens everytime I do a windows update or restart my computer for any reason. The other day it happened and I unplugged everything, opened it up to see if something was loose and took out a RAM chip and reseated it. That worked until last night. I tried the same thing this morning, but it didn't work. After about 6-7 times of turning it off and on with the power button it finally started up. Its almost seems like there is a short of some kind, because my CPU is on a little stand thing and on the time that it did work it was after I pushed it back a little before pressing the power button. Could this be a problem with my monitor? Maybe a video card problem? Something else maybe?
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Actually, the fact that you have had luck getting it started after repeated tries with the power button it is beginning to sound like a power supply problem. If as you say it is only a few months old then is it still under waranty? Or are you saying tht you have only had it a few months old but it is no longer under warranty? If still Under warranty, dont mess with it, let Gateway fix their problem I say.
 

JCNovak

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
21
Thanks. It should still be under warranty, I will have to check though. It was an "open box" that I bought from Circuit City but still came with the manufacturer's warranty.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Use the warranty if at all possible. Could net you more than you know. I have seen Gateway Replace with an "Equivilant or BETTER!" before. But then an "Equivilant Gateway is still an Emachines with a Gateway tag on it.
 

JCNovak

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
21
I didn't know that about Gateway, wish I had known before I bought it that it was basically an Emachine. I believe you are correct that it is a power supply problem. It came with a 300 W power supply and I have a brand new Dynex 350 W power supply that I have never used. Would a 350 W be ok as a replacement for a 300 W? They appear to be the same physical size. I did notice one difference though, the connection from the power supply to the hard drize is done with a red cable and the typical one that I have seen connect to hard drives. The ones I have seen usually have an end that plugs on to the 4 prong connection on the right hand side of the hard drive this one is one the left. Gateway is supposed to be sending me a box so that I can mail it out to them to fix, but they say it will take about 3 weeks or so. I use my computer quite a bit and since I have the new power supply just sitting there I am tempted to just do it myself. Is this a bad idea? I've replaced power supply's before and know its not to terribly hard to do, I just don't want to blow up the mother board if the 350 is too much, I wouldn't think it would be. Or should I just tough it out and send it off to Gateway? Thanks for all your help.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
well if you replace the power supply your self you may in fact void the factory warranty as this component is usually a warranty item by the manufacturer. THings like adding ram or hard drives do not usually void the warranty but replacing factory equipment with something third party usually does.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top