1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Gateway timeout error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Pekvi, Oct 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pekvi

    Pekvi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    My computer appears to be acting slow on certain websites and i get these "gateway timeout errors". this has been happening now for the last few days. i'm not sure what i should do and if this is correctable. could someone please help me?

    Thanks
    Peter
     
  2. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Which windows an which sites?? Give us some examples
     
  3. Pekvi

    Pekvi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    33
  4. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Ok I went to the sites with no trouble as well,,,click the top most link at the bottom of this post an follow the instructions to install, run Hijack,,,,then paste the logfile here in a post,,,,While your waiting for a reply it would be a good idea to click the bottom link for a free online virus scan,,,,,disable the antivirus you have on your machine and don't forget to re-enable after. Please post any results of the scan.

    http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/

    http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
     
  5. Pekvi

    Pekvi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 1:16:02 PM, on 2003-10-12
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\NISSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\NISUM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\IAMAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATIPTAXX.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBINST.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.mytelus.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.hotbar.com/dyn/hotbar/3.0/sb_searchPageHome.htm
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {2843DAC1-05EF-11D2-95BA-0060083493D6} - F:\DRAGON SYSTEMS\NATURALLYSPEAKING\PROGRAM\WEB_IE.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1043D4B8-2A57-4E55-BF00-78374C6F8063} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton eMail Protect] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\POPROXY.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiPTA] Atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hotbar] C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBINST.EXE /Upgrade
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TrueVector] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = F:\Office2K\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {70BA88C8-DAE8-4CE9-92BB-979C4A75F53B} (GSDACtl Class) - http://launch.gamespyarcade.com/software/launch/alaunch.cab
    O16 - DPF: {02466323-75ED-11CF-A267-0020AF2546EA} (VivoActive Control) - http://player.vivo.com/ie/vvweb.cab
    O16 - DPF: {31B7EB4E-8B4B-11D1-A789-00A0CC6651A8} (Cult3D ActiveX Player) - http://www.cult3d.com/download/cult.cab
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {D22AC3EF-B7D8-11D5-A281-005056BF0101} (plug Class) - http://dist02.chargitdial.com/chargitplug.dll
    O16 - DPF: {8C285F85-0DBD-11D3-8B37-00A02459FA0F} (CuWeb CuWebConf) - http://ic.vcsystem.com/packages/cuweb.cab
    O16 - DPF: {FEC3E5A3-50F7-4B0C-97D8-01CF69DFBFC7} (Measurement Service Client) - http://ccon.madonion.com/global/msc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {03F998B2-0E00-11D3-A498-00104B6EB52E} (MetaStreamCtl Class) - https://components.viewpoint.com/MTSInstallers/MetaStream3.cab
    O16 - DPF: {72C23FEC-3AF9-48FC-9597-241A8EBDFE0A} (InstallShield International Setup Player) - http://ftp.hp.com/pub/automatic/player/isetupML.cab
    O16 - DPF: {7A32634B-029C-4836-A023-528983982A49} - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat42.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {597C45C2-2D39-11D5-8D53-0050048383FE} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37866.7305439815
    O16 - DPF: {C36661D7-3590-45B1-80B5-520839E94DAD} (MaxisSimCity4PatcherX Control) - http://simcity.ea.com/patch/MaxisSimCity4PatcherX.cab
    O16 - DPF: {54B52E52-8000-4413-BD67-FC7FE24B59F2} (EARTPatchX Class) - http://simcity.ea.com/patch/EARTPX.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F04A8AE2-A59D-11D2-8792-00C04F8EF29D} (Hotmail Attachments Control) - http://lw11fd.law11.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx


    Attention Bandit429, here are the results of the scan
     
  6. Pekvi

    Pekvi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    I'm trying to go to the panda software site and it gave me the gateway error again.
     
  7. Pekvi

    Pekvi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    i'm still having these errors show up. if someone out there could look at my hijack results and get back to me that would be grand.

    thanks
     
  8. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Ok this is all I see,,,,run hijack and have it fix the following.

    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.hotbar.com/dyn/hotbar/3....rchPageHome.htm

    O2 - BHO: Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL

    O3 - Toolbar: &Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL


    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hotbar] C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBINST.EXE /Upgrade

    Then go to start,,run,,,,,type msconfing in the box an hit ok,,,,click the start up tab and uncheck the following,,,,,then restart.

    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBINST.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.3.5.0\HBSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE

    Go to the following link, then download and install spybot,,,,after its installed be sure to update it. Then run it and select "fix problems found" Then give your links a go and let us know how it goes for ya.

    http://shinobiresources.com/downloads.htm#SpyBot
     
  9. Pekvi

    Pekvi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    I did everything you mentioned and to no avail those three websites still give me grief. even the panda site.
    not sure what to do

    HHHHHHHHEEEEEEEELLLLLLLPPPPPPPP

    Thanks
     
  10. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Pevki have you ever used system restore? Go to start,,,programs,,,accessories,,,system tools,,,system restore. Follow the on screen instruction and choose a date that is bold from the calender that is before the problem occurred. And let us know how it works for ya. :)
     
  11. skmah

    skmah

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Seems like I have a similar problem to you guys. I cannot get onto certain websites including CBC.ca and mytelus.com

    I am running an ADSL modem on a Windows XP platform

    and yes, I am getting that stupid Gateway Timeout error

    A search on the net indicated that the best way of going about things is renewing your IP address

    before that is initiated, anyone has any bright ideas on how to solve this?

    S
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170337

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice