1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

GeForce 210 on windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Markusfresh, Aug 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    When I try to install windows 8, my graphics card freaks out and then after like 10-15 minutes my monitor turns off (I'm assuming the graphics card crashed)

    And ideas on how to fix this?

    The graphics card is a GeForce 210. (I know it is crappy, please don't just say "buy I new card")

    It works perfectly on windows 7

    Thanks for any help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,532
    What did the Windows 8 Upgrade Advisor say?
     
  3. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    If there was one, it didn't say anything
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,532
    There is one, and it always has something to say. :) If you still have Windows 7 running on the machine see Check your PC for Windows 8 readiness with upgrade assistant.

    When I ran it on my Dell laptop it said I couldn't install Windows 8 because of the graphics card. I went ahead and tried three or four different ways and failed each time as the install just kinda died.
     
  5. alphanumeric

    alphanumeric

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Windows 8 runs just fine on my GT 220. I haven't looked it up, but I wouldn't think there was a whole lot of difference between the two. My GT 220 is PCIe. I'm running the 302.82 desktop win8 64bit English whql drivers.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,659
    There are nvidia drivers for the 200 series cards listed on the nvidia site. I am currently using a 260 with win8 RTM and it works fine. I would tend to think either something on the card is failing and or you have some other hardware problem. Installing an os is one of the most hardware intensive tasks you can do. If there is a hardware problem, it very often shows up during setup/install.

    Have you checked your temps, voltages, and memory? If not, I would do so now. Download and run memtest from the boot CD or flash drive. Post your temps and voltages here; specifically the cpu temp, system temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values.
     
  7. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    What is memtest? Is it something I should download? If so you should post a download link! Thanks. :) I'm really frustrated that it works perfectly on windows 7 and then has problems on windows 8
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,532
  9. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, here it is

    System Temperature: 49C-53C
    CPU: 38C
    12V: 12.30V-12.36V
    5V: 5.08
    3.3V: 3.33V
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,659
    Voltages look fine. Post the exact system specs you are attempting to install win8 on; ie exact mb, cpu, ram, etc. If you are attempting to install on a big box system ie dell, hp, etc, that is going to be a problem until they release chipset drivers for win8.
     
  11. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Okay. mb, meaning motherboard?
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,659
    Yes
     
  13. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Item Details

    Windows: Windows 7 Ultimate Edition (64-bit) (Build 7600)
    Internet Explorer: 9.0.8112.16421
    Memory (RAM): 4095 MB
    CPU Info: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+
    CPU Speed: 2056.9 MHz
    Sound Card: Speakers (Realtek High Definiti |
    Realtek Digital Output (Realtek |

    Display Adapters: NVIDIA GeForce 210 | NVIDIA GeForce 210 | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror Driver | RDP Reflector Display Driver
    Monitors: 2x; Generic PnP Monitor | Generic Non-PnP Monitor |
    Screen Resolution: 1280 X 1024 - 32 bit
    Network: Network Present
    Network Adapters: NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
    CD / DVD Drives: 2x (E: | K: | ) E: TSSTcorpCD/DVDW TS-H653L | K:
    Ports: COM3 LPT Port NOT Present.
    Mouse: 16 Button Wheel Mouse Present
    Hard Disks: C: 261.8GB | D: 6.3GB | W: 30.0GB
    Hard Disks - Free: C: 223.3GB | D: 893.9MB | W: 13.0GB
    USB Controllers: 2 host controllers.
    Firewire (1394): 1 host controllers.
    Manufacturer *: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    Product Make *: RK574AA-ABA a1730n
    AC Power Status: OnLine
    BIOS Info: AT/AT COMPATIBLE | 03/19/07 | HPQOEM - 42302e31
    Time Zone: Pacific Standard Time
    Battery Status: No Battery
    Motherboard *: ASUSTek Computer INC. NODUSM3
    IP Address: 192.168.1.14 |
    MAC Address: 00-1A-92-41-38-94
    Host Name: MARKUS-PC
    SM BIOS: 5.07


    hp pavilion a1730n desktop computer
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,659
    As I thought there are no win8 drivers listed on the hp site for your computer. While you might be able to find chipset drivers on the nvidia site [you have a nvidia chipset mb] they may or may not work. Big box systems ie hp, dell, whatever are proprietary. They are made to the box maker's specs and NOT industry standard specs.

    You are attempting to install an unsupported os on your computer. You are in effect a beta tester; it may work and it may not.
     
  15. Markusfresh

    Markusfresh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Awh. So do think I should get a new system? Or would another Card work?

    and thanks for all the help!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065623