general protection fault

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tpkelley

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2002
Messages
67
I get the following error when I try to run rapidcomm plus and approach is open.
I have windows 98 se running.

APPROACH caused a general protection fault
in module HPF9XDR0.DRV at 0002:0000785a.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=10a7 EIP=0000785a EFLGS=00000206
EBX=00000000 SS=6287 ESP=0000bff6 EBP=0000c7ba
ECX=6287002a DS=4957 ESI=81d70000 FS=0000
EDX=00000000 ES=1127 EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
26 83 bf e8 02 00 74 0d 66 26 8b 87 e4 02 66 89
Stack dump:
10ae6287 824d0000 50480001 73654420 74654a6b 30343620 65532043 73656972 00000000 00000000 04000000 00940107 dd03037e 00010380 08660001 00640ae6
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Hiya

Can you explain what Approach is, as i've not heard of it? Also, by the looks of the error, its conflicting with a driver from a HP Deskjet 930 series. Do you have one of those installed on your system, or has it been uninstalled?

Regards

eddie
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Is it the version Deskjet 930, or a different type? Also, is it turned on at the same time as you get this error? If so, turn it off and see if you still get it.

Can you go to Start | Find Files, and type in

HPF9XDR0.DRV

How many are found, and in which locations?

eddie
 

tpkelley

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2002
Messages
67
They only have one file. It is in the following location:
c:\windows\system\
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Well, that rules that bit out :(

If there were two, then they may have been conflicting with eachother, one trying to use the same driver the other is using at the same time.

Is it the version Deskjet 930, or a different type? Also, is it turned on at the same time as you get this error? If so, turn it off and see if you still get it.

Also, have you tried uninstalling/reinstalling Approach? If there are any saved files, copy them to another folder, just to be safe.

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top