generic host process error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
hi i have had this problem before but cannot remember how i fixed it. i recieve the error "generic host process win32 error" it causes my computer to lose connection to my wireless internet and reconnecting intermittently, and it makes my computer run really slow. i remember that it had something to do with svchost.exe, i think it was a virus disguised as a svchost file. i have a hijackthis log ready if you need it as i think that is how i fixed it before but dont want to just start deleting/fixing things because i cant understand the log very well.

thank you
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
Scan saved at 4:30:25 PM, on 1/14/2011
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.17093)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Wireless Console 2\wcourier.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Brett\My Documents\Downloads\HiJackThis.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\mshta.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\mshta.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\mshta.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugin-container.exe

O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In SSV Helper - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\5.6.5805.1910\swg.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Wireless Console 2] C:\Program Files\Wireless Console 2\wcourier.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Google Update] "C:\Documents and Settings\Brett\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe" /c
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [swg] "C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PCFix] C:\Program Files\PCFix\PCFix.exe
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: Google Software Updater (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Do you not have any Anti-Virus running on this PC.....and any reason you haven't upgraded to Explorer 8
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
yes, i have malwarebytes anti-maleware. i generally use firefox not explorer.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Malwarebytes is a Anti malware not Antivirus......I would suggest installing a Anti Virus.....you can use the links in my sig such as AvastHome free version...or any other one of your choice.......I would install it and update it and run a scan with what ever Anti-Virus program you choose.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Please download and run Process Explorer (it doesn't require any installation).

Right-click a mshta.exe process and select Properties... > Image > copy what you see in the Command line: and paste it in your next reply.
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
sorry haven't written back recently, havent had time to get on the computer. apparently the problem fixed itself, which is wierd because last time i had it it went on for like two weeks before i fixed it. anyway thanks for your help anyway.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I still need you to answer my question. I want to confirm your computer is indeed infected...
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
Ok so i marked this solved but then it popped back up, now its worse. still have the generic host process error for win 32 services, now i have no sound whenever i play a game and most the time i have no sound for anything else. computer says it either it doesn't recognize audio hardware installed or that none is installed. just today the computer said my wireless couldn't be detected but i could get on the internet fine. also, a few minutes after i turn on my computer it will sound like its running real hard, i look at the processes and the cpu is running at full capacity and 97% of it will be on one svchost.exe which doesn't make sense, especially since i have 0 programs running. i have malware anti-malware and Microsoft security essentials. but when i go to update MSE it says it cant check for updates due to an internet or connectivity issue. i don't know whats going on please help. oh and Mr. Phantom010 please give me way more detailed instructions on the process explorer thing, i downloaded it and ran it but where do i find the stuff on svchost.exe and this mshta.exe so i can post it. thanks
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
also i forgot to mention that it will sometimes change the bar at the bottom of my screen and the icons to look like windows 98. sometimes it will change right back other times it wont change till i restart the computer. thanks again.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Please download and run Process Explorer (it doesn't require any installation).
Right-click a mshta.exe process and select Properties... > Image > copy what you see in the Command line: and paste it in your next reply.
When running Process Explorer, you'll have a list of all running processes on your computer. I need you to right-click on one of the mshta.exe processes you'll see. The processes are located on the left side of the window, under the title Process. Nothing out of the ordinary to decipher.

After right-clicking mshta.exe, select Properties...

Then, click on the Image tab.

Highlight and copy (CTRL+C) the line you see in the Command line box.

Then, in your next reply here on the forum, paste (CTRL+V) that line.
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
I am seeing where you are talking about but none of the processes are named mshta.exe. The only ones i have that start with "m" are MsMpEng.exe, and msseces.exe. is it bad not to have a mshta.exe? Sorry i not real smart with computers. Thanks again
 

cloud07

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
66
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
Scan saved at 9:35:26 PM, on 2/1/2011
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.17093)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MsMpEng.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Wireless Console 2\wcourier.exe
C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ATK0100\HControl.exe
C:\Program Files\ASUS\ATK Media\DMEDIA.EXE
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\ATK0100\ATKOSD.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugin-container.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Brett\My Documents\Downloads\HiJackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\5.6.5805.1910\swg.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Wireless Console 2] C:\Program Files\Wireless Console 2\wcourier.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HControl] C:\WINDOWS\ATK0100\HControl.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATKMEDIA] C:\Program Files\ASUS\ATK Media\DMEDIA.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATICCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe" runtime -Delay
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ASUS Live Update] C:\Program Files\ASUS\ASUS Live Update\ALU.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Alcmtr] ALCMTR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSC] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [swg] "C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PCFix] C:\Program Files\PCFix\PCFix.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Google Update] "C:\Documents and Settings\Brett\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe" /c
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate) (gupdate) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
O23 - Service: Google Software Updater (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe

--
End of file - 4951 bytes
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top