Solved Get a new monitor or does this mean something else?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

NWwoman

Sunshiney
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
7
Crazy situation here. Not hardware expert at all.

Take a look at this: https://i.gyazo.com/32fdbc07052aa1ee41a73716c72f3ed4.jpg That's what displays on monitor 2 here when doing a gyazo snip.

What you see in that snip blew me away because this is what I see with my eyes (with and without contacts, lol):
https://photos.app.goo.gl/P12iW7VhN4asFAzS6

How's that for a really strange problem? arggg.

Situation:
Have two monitors. The one you see is connected via a USB to DVI Video Adapter. Desktop does not have its own graphic board. That's a Samsung monitor you are looking at.

All was great, as always. Went for a walk. Came back from walk and went to go back to work and the lines on the monitor is what I saw. No one was here. Connections all checked. All fine. Rebooted hard and soft. Checked task manager. Memory usage seems unusually high. Closed all browsers and desktop apps. Still was at 34% which is strange. SVC host was culprit. It's not in temp though. Ran malwarebytes and avast. No problems detected.

Haven't added anything to system for many months.

Desktop Config:
Two Samsung monitors. The problem one is a SyncMaster 932B 19 inich. The OS is Win 7 /64. HP Desktop Pavilion dual-core.

UPDATE:

1. I checked core temps (it's dual core). This is the result: https://gyazo.com/7c99cdd1575ded9f61ff5110d9a6f693

2. I unplugged monitor from power over night. When I powered it up but did not connect it to computer, I got screen of thick black horizontal lines and vertical thin red and blue lines on a grayish background before it turned black. Blue on bottom is blinking.

Question:

Am thinking that I should buy a new monitor but double-checking to see if this is something fixable. I thought the monitor was bad until I did the gyazo snip. That really blew my away.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,504
In the future please use the Report button to request that your thread be moved if you feel it's not in the correct forum. Thanks for understanding.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
148
In your first link, are we supposed to be seeing the Windows logo and you desktop? The second link doesn't bring up any photos. Have you rebooted your computer with the monitor connected? There may be a reset procedure for your monitor. Check the manual or search online for it.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,381
The desktop looks normal in the first screenshot because that is showing the output from the graphics card, in effect before it gets to the monitor. (The 2nd link works if you're signed into Google).

The fact that the monitor is showing a weird display even when it's not connected to the computer means it's definitely faulty.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
148
The desktop looks normal in the first screenshot because that is showing the output from the graphics card, in effect before it gets to the monitor. (The 2nd link works if you're signed into Google).

The fact that the monitor is showing a weird display even when it's not connected to the computer means it's definitely faulty.
How does the normal Windows display from the graphics card occur on a faulty monitor?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,381
Are you saying the same monitor is showing the desktop properly and also has the weird stripes etc ?
 

NWwoman

Sunshiney
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
7
The desktop looks normal in the first screenshot because that is showing the output from the graphics card, in effect before it gets to the monitor. (The 2nd link works if you're signed into Google).

The fact that the monitor is showing a weird display even when it's not connected to the computer means it's definitely faulty.
Thank you! That explantion was very helpful and goes into my brain's storage area for future reference. New monitor bought and set up already. Thank you.
 

NWwoman

Sunshiney
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
7
Are you saying the same monitor is showing the desktop properly and also has the weird stripes etc ?
Yes -- although one image was from a snip and the other was from my phone camera. Two different results. However, another poster said that was because the snip is actually of an image provided by the desktop's inboard graphic program while the camera image represents what my eyes see. I have purchased a new monitor and set it up. All is well. Just confused me as to why I was seeing both images -- like you -- and also why the monitor went bad in a second.. no warnings..no flickering.. nothing.. one second fine, next second lines.

Thank you for all the help. This is a great forum.
 

NWwoman

Sunshiney
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
7
In the future please use the Report button to request that your thread be moved if you feel it's not in the correct forum. Thanks for understanding.
I would have happily done so but did not read anywhere on the forum that that was the procedure. I did spend a considerable time looking. I only read to contact administrator and could not do so, again despite trying to find a way. I'm accustomed to "report" meaning to inform about a problem poster or troublesome post. Thus, it was not intuitive to me. I'd like to suggest that you consider pinning the "Report to contact admin to delete post" procedure as it is quite helpful to know. Thank you for your understanding. :)
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
148
managed said:
The desktop looks normal in the first screenshot because that is showing the output from the graphics card, in effect before it gets to the monitor.

Perhaps I'm missing something, but how can you display an image on a monitor, whatever the source of the image, before it gets to the monitor?

NWwoman said: Yes -- although one image was from a snip and the other was from my phone camera. Two different results.

I assume you got two different results on two different occasions, otherwise the snippet and the camera picture would have looked the same, right?

If the desktop display was normal on one occasion, I'm wondering if the problem was with something about the display and not the monitor.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,381
I had assumed the 'snip' of the desktop was being displayed on the monitor that worked and that the other monitor always showed an incorrect display.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,504
I would have happily done so but did not read anywhere on the forum that that was the procedure. I did spend a considerable time looking. I only read to contact administrator and could not do so, again despite trying to find a way. I'm accustomed to "report" meaning to inform about a problem poster or troublesome post. Thus, it was not intuitive to me. I'd like to suggest that you consider pinning the "Report to contact admin to delete post" procedure as it is quite helpful to know. Thank you for your understanding.
You seem to have taken offense. I was merely informing you for the next time. It's not feasible to have a sticky post at the top of every forum for every possible situation for using the report button. However, when in doubt, or to contact an Administrator, you can use the "contact us" link that appears at the bottom fo every page.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top