Get modem IP through cmd behind router?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Is there any command that will get me the modem IP when I am behind a router? When i use IPconfig it just gives me my local ip on the network. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Yeah i know these two methods but I am trying to get it throught the command prompt. The reason being is because I want to write the output to a file and then send it to my email at work so I always know my home IP address to remote desktop if it ever changes during the work day.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
I don't know of anything that will run from the command-line, but your routers status page should tell you the IP.
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
All i need is an automatic utility that will write my ip to a text file so I can send the text file to my email. Any ideas?
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Thanks. I decided to go with the DynDNS. I put the updater on my computer and created a domain with them. Now all I am going to do is take my current domain and get godaddy(my domain manager) and just forward it to the free domain i got through DynDNS so now i dont have to worry about typing in that weird domain name. Thanks!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,503
Sorry I didn't see your thread earlier.

ping -r 1 any_valid_internet_name_or_IP_address

After each reply will be a line:
Route: your WAN IP (or, as you called it, your modem IP)
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
This will not necessarily give your external IP, it may return one of your ISP's servers instead. You'll have to see if it works for your connection.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,503
brendandonhu, does it depend on whether the computer has DNS = real DNS or router's IP? If so, then using internet IP instead of internet name should work?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,503
"The reason being is because I want to write the output to a file and then send it to my email at work so I always know my home IP address to remote desktop if it ever changes during the work day."

Addressing the above desire, just use the full email header. I tested this using yahoo.com, hotmail.com and Netscape Communicator as my mail client for my ISP email and for netscape.net. In all cases my actual IP was included. For example, the following is an edited line from mail sent from netscape.net, using Netscape Communicator to send and receive (192.168.2.2 is my LAN address):

Received: from [192.168.2.2] (MY.IP.IS.HERE.client.MYISP.com [MY.IP.IS.HERE]) by air-in04.mx.aol.com (v108_r1_b1.2) with ESMTP id MAILININ44-589b43c6e93722c; Thu, 12 Jan 2006 18:41:44 -0500
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top