1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

get rid of Smart Copy

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by newkid, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newkid

    newkid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    I'm running Win XP. I used Smart Copy and then I deleted it. But when I click right on any icon Smart Copy also appears. How can I get rid of it?
     
  2. GyBear

    GyBear

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    You have to clean your context menus.

    Run REGEDIT.EXE (Start/Run)

    Go to: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT \*\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers .

    Delete the Smart Copy entry.
     
  3. newkid

    newkid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    I did what you said but there is no Smart Copy entry. I have an entry "Open with Encryption Menu". Could this be it?
     
  4. GyBear

    GyBear

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    No, it isn't. Any other candidate entry? (Sorry, I never used Smart Copy.)

    Do you get the Smart Copy for every icon you right-click on, or only specific ones?

    While in the Registry Editor, try running a search (Edit/Find) for Smart Copy or one for ContextMenuHandlers (to find other specific Context Menus).
     
  5. newkid

    newkid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    I found in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT \*\shell two entries: smartcp and smartcpDfilme. I should delete delete them, right?
     
  6. GyBear

    GyBear

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    I guess you could try deleting them. But not before taking a backup of your registry. Or at least exporting KEY_CLASSES_ROOT \*.

    (In Regedit,
    Highlight KEY_CLASSES_ROOT \*
    Click on File/Export
    Save under any name.

    To restore the key (if needs be), just double-click on the file you saved.)
     
  7. newkid

    newkid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks a lot. It is now fixed!
     
  8. GyBear

    GyBear

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Great, you can now Carpe diem :D
     
  9. newkid

    newkid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    37
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173331

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice