Getting an Navw32.EXE. error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DustyJersey

Everytime I try to run my Norton Antivirus program I get this Navw32.EXE. error. I'm very new at this. I have a WindowsME-pentium III, thanks for any advice or help that you can send my way. Peace, DustyJersey

DustyJersey

TOGG, RE:getting an error message from my Norton AntiVirus-it's a 2000 and I believe it is a suite w/something called LiveAdvisor(Symantec Corp) & LiveUpdate 1.6(Symantec Corp).
I was advised that there is a new threat that disables Norton and that I will have to reinstall it. Not looking forward to this-I'm learning the hands on way:). Thank you for your help, I wish you a happy and healthy new year. Peace, Dusty

DustyJersey

tonkacat, RE:getting an error message from my Norton AntiVirus. Thank you for the two articles explaining the bad news. I will be following this to see how to improve my problem. I would like to wish you a happy and healthy new year. Peace, DustyJersey

If you've already done the uninstall/reinstall, I hope it went well!

If not, I think you may want to read the Symantec advisory again, because it suggests that only the later versions of NAV (2004 onward) may be affected by this exploit. It doesn't actually say 2000 is not affected, but the inference is possible.

If your version will work at all, try running Live Update and see what happens. It is possible that your program is just too old to accept some of the latest program updates that Symantec have issued. They stopped supporting 2000 some time ago (although definitions may still be available for older versions).

It may be time to replace NAV with a later version or another (better) program like Kapersky or NOD32. Alternatively, you could try one of the free programs, Avast or AVG.

DustyJersey

TOGG,