Getting No Video Display on HP 503w

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lphillip2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5
I'm working on an HP Pavilion 503w that has ON BOARD Video
but I'm getting no video display no matter what I've tried.
I only get a black screen or "Please Check Signal" as if the
PC is not turned on.
This is what I've tried so far:

1) Contacted HP- they suggested that I send PC in to HP.
2) Tried several different monitors that I know are good.
3) Re-seated Ram, CPU, All IDE connectors, All PCI cards.
4) Installed new RAM
5) Installed PCI Video Card and hooked monitor up to PCI
instead of On-Board.

Still No Video. Any suggestions ? Thanks
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
have you checked what is enabled and disabled in the bios,have you loaded the drivers
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Do you have the correct drivers for the video card as well.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
69
It sounds like you cant even get to a point to try new drivers. I dont know if this applies to an HP Pavillion but alot of computers have this. Take the cover off the pc and there is a bank of jumpers on the motherboard and one section of that area has 3 pins sticking up, 2 are covered by a jumper. in this area it should have written on the board "CMOS" and "CLEAR CMOS" move the jumper to the 2 pins to clear the cmos and power on pc. Then turn pc off after 5 sec and put the jumper back to it's original position and see it that works.
 

lphillip2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5
Thanks for you reply,

I haven't been able to SEE anything so I can't get to the BIOS or load any drivers. I'm in total darkness.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
69
You dont need to SEE anything to try what I said . I realize you cant do anything at all that involes the monitor. Im talking about physically taking the case off of your computer (may involve a screwdriver) opening it up and examing the circut boards inside. Find the jumpers (little pieces of plastic that connect two pins together) and move them. This will reset your CMOS (bios) without even having a monitor attached to the pc.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,278
Clear the cmos as stated previously and see if you can get it to boot, if not.

1. Is it under warranty? If so get it fixed.

If not you probably have a relatively serious problem, either PSU, CPU, or motherboard usually cause this when they die.

Have you installed anything internal recently? new ram, hd, whatever? HP's can be very picky on the type of ram they need if you installed some no name this in itself could cause it.

You may want to dissconnect everything, hard drive, any modems or nics and just leave the ram, the cpu/fan connected, then try.

If no joy something is toast, if you have a friend that has a spare mobo and cpu you could have him test your cpu and see if it works, you could also try another power supply if you know anyone that has a spare.

Also remember that if you remove all the ram and power up the machine it should beep at you, if not the logic in the motherboard is probably dead.

Good Luck
 

lphillip2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5
Hey Krall-

Thanks for your suggestions. My first reply back was meant for
"Dai" and "Charlie".

Now, as to your suggestions, I'm still trying it but I don't see any
jumpers on this motherboard that have "CMOS" or CLEAR CMOS"
near them, I don't even see those words at all. So I'm still looking
and very carefully playing with the few jumpers I do see. No cigar
yet.

Thanks
 

lphillip2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5
Hey rmay635703-

Thanks for your suggestions.

I'll check into the warranty and follow your advise if it is.

I only tried a different stick of RAM to see if I'd get any response,
since I didn't, I put the original RAM back in.

I'll try disconnecting all but RAM and CPU fan and see...

I don't have another mobo available, but I will try another power supply and see...

And I'll remove the RAM ONLY and see if I get any beeps. I haven't been getting any beeps at all so far, which concerns me.

I'll let you know. Thanks
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
if you cannot find the jumpers remove the battery for a few minutes then put it back
to get into the bios press del as it boots or f1 f2 f10 i'm not sure on a hp
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top