1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Getting no video on a diff computer. How can I isolate the problem?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kashmir09, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    It has been hot the 2 past weeks, and my brothers' constant playing of games on their computer has probably added up to overheating it. What happens is that the monitor no longer shows any picture, however its light still blinks off and on when I push the monitor's power button.

    I hooked up their monitor to this computer and it still did not show any picture. What could be the problem? Did I isolate the problem correctly? Thanks!
     
  2. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Did you use the same cable from his machine? It could be a bad cable.
     
  3. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Well, the old monitor's cable is permanently connected to it. I cannot remove it to use this monitor's cable...
     
  4. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    OK I guess the next thing I would do is try another monitor on the brother's machine if it works then you would have isolated the problem.
     
  5. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Sure. I will try this now. Thanks.
     
  6. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Yeah... the monitor shows a picture, but their PC cannot boot properly. After showing the HP screen, the system freezes.

    They have a Pavilion 7935 if that means anything.
     
  7. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    It may be due to the monitor but if it shows a picture it's not the video card.

    I think you are safe in assuming it's the monitor.
     
  8. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Well, how come the PC doesn't boot properly then??
     
  9. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Bump...
     
  10. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Please...
     
  11. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    The computer booting improperly is probably not something related to the monitor. There may have been changes made that affect the boot priority. Or it could be a bad or going bad HDD. a number of things can cause this even a case of Widows being messed with.
     
  12. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    With the original monitor was it having problems?
     
  13. kashmir09

    kashmir09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    I'll have to see in a bit. I'm reformating it as we speak.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/489429

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice